We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”
Review of Fountainside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fountainside Hotel
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Had heard comments like dated and out of the way. Found the hotel to be a great surprise. Clean rooms, nice views (over the freeway) great value. The hotel is about a 5 min walk to the waterfront. Friendly staff. Very good hotel if on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayjay41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,230)
There are newer reviews for Fountainside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

I exited the hotel via the stairwell and was abruptly confronted by a member of staff, who said that this set off an ALARM.

I apologised and asked if the exit was signed to request that the stairs be only used in an evacuation. the answer was yes.

I again apologised.

I checked later and no signage existed. The abrupt confrontation was therefore inappropriate.

Please fix this situation.

Otherwise the accommodation was very good

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimsullivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is located within walking distance of the CBD, well appointed and great value for money! We spent 4 nights at this hotel and we were thoroughly impressed. The staff were very friendly, the room was kept very clean and the minibar was very reasonably priced. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We chose to stay at fountainside after reading trip advisors reviews. We were not disappointed! The staff were extremely friendly and the hotel had a lovely relaxed feel. The location of the hotel was fantastic - we were able to walk into central Hobart, the wharf, and Salamanca markets. We were also within driving distance to other places, such as Richmond. The room was extremely comfortable and warm. It was equipped with a large tv, heated toilet seat, very cheap mini bar, and complimentary wifi. We were very pleased to stay at Fountainside, and will stay there again should we visit Hobart again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Fountainside is Hobart's best kept secret. We chose it after looking at previous reviews and photographs and we could not have been happier. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The bed was lovely as were the shower and bathroom facilities. No need to bring anything - it is all provided, down to the hair dryer. The mini bar is fabulous value, much cheaper than I have seen it anywhere else. The breakfast was fantastic and so reasonably priced. We ate in the restaurant there one night, and it was a great experience. The food was wonderful, and again very reasonably priced. The hotel is very central to all of Hobart's beautiful attractions, and although it is by a roundabout, we did not find traffic noise an issue. The internet is free and worked well for us. The staff are very friendly and were very helpful with any request we made. The staff we spoke to also had a great knowledge of the city and surrounds, which was very helpful. All in all, we loved the Fountainside experience, and we will definitely look at rebooking when we return to Hobart.

Room Tip: Higher floor may cut down any traffic noise, although lift is a bit clunky
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateStorey_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Even though the decor in the lobby is a bit dated, the room we stayed in was very comfortable and WARM!! The bathroom was tastefully renovated in grey and white. The staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the breakfast. The view of Mt Wellington, capped with snow, was a pleasant surprise. Free onsite parking is a bonus too, because I don't like getting up early to move my car. I will definitely stay here again. It's a winner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Blonde_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I am always sceptical about the reality of photos on a website but was really pleasantly surprised at how true to life they photos were. Don't let the outside of the hotel put you off, the rooms are clean and modern and well equipped. The mini-bar is so affordable that there is no need for buying supplies. The only short coming would be the food standard but maybe that is me being fussy. Location is fantastic and because the weather has been fantastic for July, I have walked everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle5152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 48 in Hobart
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 48 in Hobart
1,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountainside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainside Hotel

Address: 40 Brooker Ave, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hobart
#3 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hobart
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $100 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountainside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal address in Hobart for both business and leisure. Walk to the CBD, Historic Waterfront and Salamanca and it's an easy drive to all main attractions in Southern Tasmania. Quiet 4 star rooms with luxurious beds, and air-conditioning for a great nights sleep. Broadband internet, Austar, offstreet parking, breakfast and dinner prices available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fountainside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountainside Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing