We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay longer if you can”
Review of Fountainside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fountainside Hotel
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stay longer if you can”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we were met by J B he was fantastic
Very informative and genuine you could tell that he really doesn't love his job
We went up to our room settled in and went down for a beautiful dinner was so nice

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    495
    57
    7
    8
See reviews for
189
664
87
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maleny, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Wonderful to get between the sheets after a day out and about.
Stayed here twice, a few days apart, and found the staff always friendly and helpfull.
Even though the hotel overlooks a busy round-a-bout the noise level was minimal, and sleep quality excellent.
Room 76 has a bidet addition to the toilet seat, making it a bit uncomfortable, but otherwise the bathroom was great.
The breakfast for $12 is a bargain, cereals, toast, eggs, bacon, beans, and tomatoes, good wholesome stuff. If you live by the saying, " breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince etc," then this breakfast is where to start your day.
Free parking is close, and the hotel is within an easy walk to the harbour and the central part of the city.
A great stay, thank you to the staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Bottom Line: Good value at the north edge of Hobart. Recommended.

Stayed at the Fountainside for three nights at the beginning of a Tasmanian vacation. Friendly staff. The room was basic but clean and recently updated. Comfy bed; spacious enough room; nice bathroom, including a shower with good pressure. The location was handy, both when driving and when on foot. A couple of small issues with housekeeping: one day dirty towels were cleared away, but no clean replacements left; the other day no extra toilet paper was left, even though the roll was almost done. But, these are small issues that were both easy to fix and which shouldn't keep you away.

There is a buffet breakfast for about $13, with baked eggs, sausage, Aussie-style bacon, stewed prunes, tomatoes, and mushrooms, along with toast and musli. There are also lots of cafes in town, a short five-minute walk away, which was our preference.

Other Positives: parking was included at no cost. And, even though the lot was small, it never filled and the front desk assured me there would always be a spot.

Other Negatives: Internet was reliable but only if you were at the door to the room or in the hallway. There was no service in the room proper. Keep this in mind if Internet is important to you.

When I told locals what our rate was they said we'd gotten a bargain. Given what lodging costs in Hobart, I'm inclined to agree, and the value proposition is why I gave the property an above-average rating. Keep Fountainside in mind when you are heading to Hobart for a clean, basic, friendly place to stay. I recommend it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank QlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 5 and we checked into a large room with a 1 double bed and 2 single beds. We added an extra single bed at $20 per night. The room was very spacious and clean, and looked newly furnished. The bathroom was huge, although the shower was a little weak. There was a nice well-equipped kitchenette, and a very nice dining area with great views of the city and the Tasman bridge. The TV was huge. The complimentary toiletries and beverages were lovely. The room was quite soundproof as we didn't hear any noise from.the streets. The location was an easy stroll to the Victoria Harbor and Elizabeth St shopping areas, and Woolworths.

We did not try the hotel breakfast. The minibar in the room was very reasonably priced.

Overall it was a lovely stay. I would recommend this hotel, especially this room 77! Apparently this hotel won some award before. No surprise and well deserved!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ada123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here one night in March 2013 and would recommend to others looking for a comfortable night in Hobart. Fountainside is close to the waterfront (5-10 minute walk), restaurants and theatre. Initial impression of the car park was small, but it wraps around the entire building and there was certainly enough parking available when we stayed.
We were greeted enthusiastically at Reception and given information about the local area as well as recommended activities and places to eat / drink.
Our second floor room was spacious, clean and bright, with quiet and effective air-conditioning; bathroom was huge with walk-in shower. Everything was clearly marked, with clear instructions.
If you want a great, huge breakfast then this is the place to stay; for $11.50 a head you are provided with a full buffet breakfast - cereal, toast, eggs, bacon, sausages etc: great all-you-can-eat value! (They even provided scissors to open those stupid plastic cereal packs!!)
WiFi is available free but we were not able to connect to it in our room - this didn't bother us for one night and we are sure it would have been easily overcome if we had bothered to ask at Reception (probably a user-induced failure!)
Overall, we had a great night and look forward to staying here again. We have tried other places in Hobart, but would return to the Fountainside in preference.

Room Tip: Second floor room was great for us. The one elevator is slow (although has great character!) so lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baz_of_the_Gong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I would definitely book Fountainside on return trip to Hobart. The location is excellent, an easy walk to waterfront and CBD. The staff were very welcoming and professional, and the room spacious & clean. As a woman travelling alone on this occasion it was a very comfortable environment to be in. I found Fountainside on a late night review of Tripadvisor after finding myself in a very unsatisfactory room in another hotel belonging to a well known chain. I had booked the hotel through a corporate travel agent mistakenly thinking this guaranteed a minimum standard of accommodation & security. I'll continue to trust the TripAdvisor community in future.

Room Tip: I stayed on 7th floor next to corner suite which had great views towards waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with a friend. Hobart was very busy and this hotel wasn't my first choice as I expected the location to be noisy. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the room was quiet and the traffic noise was only very slight. As this is an older property the rooms are spacious.
It's a short walk to the wharves, Salamanca Place, the CBD, the hospital.
I would recommend a stay here for any type of traveller.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have a better view across to the parkland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boltartas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 48 in Hobart
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountainside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainside Hotel

Property: Fountainside Hotel
Address: 40 Brooker Ave, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hobart
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hobart
#3 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountainside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal address in Hobart for both business and leisure. Walk to the CBD, Historic Waterfront and Salamanca and it's an easy drive to all main attractions in Southern Tasmania. Quiet 4 star rooms with luxurious beds, and air-conditioning for a great nights sleep. Broadband internet, Austar, offstreet parking, breakfast and dinner prices available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fountainside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountainside Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing