We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy stay & no faults.”
Review of Fountainside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fountainside Hotel
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for the 1st 2nites & last nite of our week long Tassie road trip. Was greeted both times by wonderful reception staff named Megan & Alisha, they were both full of friendly info.The room was comfy with no faults. U can walk down to many nice bars, cafes etc. This hotel is clean & we would recommend it & we stayed on the 7th floor. Enjoyed port Arthur & Salamanca cafes & bars.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allisonj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 756 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

this hotel was a great place to stay. close to the hospital and the city, it was very clean and comfortable the staff were very friendly and very helpful. the breakfast was excellent and the meals in the dining room were the best i have had in a long time.th mini bar was reasonably priced.i would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gaylene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

From the other reviews, we thought we were in for a treat with this hotel. Well, if you like resting in the middle of the intersection of a highway and roundabout, perhaps Fountainside is for you. The only view is of roaring traffic. What a sterile, noisy environment. The overworked staff found us an alternative place to stay after a couple of hours delay. The venue is clean but a long walk from most of tourist interest. Avoid this one!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank maryblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed there in November for the Tasmania leg of our trip. Nice, unpretentious, 20 min walk from downtown, mostly industrial views from windows, chemical smell in the room, truly excellent breakfast and very nice inexpensive mini bar. Parking hard to find in late afternoons. A couple of very decent dinners in the restaurant when we were too tired to walk back out to town - the lamb was awesome and I don't often do lamb. Good value for the money but really not luxurious. Internet connection very cheap but not reliable. Not easy to find. Got lost three times when trying to get back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TabascoRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Room was a good size, beautifully made up and clean. Great spot easy walk to docks and city centre. Lots of restaurants around for meals. Free parking. Free internet. Breakfast was about $11.00 per head with all the usual choices hot and cold. Staff were friendly and helpful when requested.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fountainside was extremely clean and very comfortable - plenty of space and excellent service. We had a room with a queen bed and two singles immaculately made up and with plenty of towels and toiletries. A short walk to everything - I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I simply booked a double room and was very impressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lyndall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A brilliant place to view Hobart. Great location, helpful and courteous staff . Clean and functional rooms. Great value for money . Do yourself a favour have one of their desserts, try the soup at the salad buffet. A very relaxing and enjoyable 3 night stay was had. David and Meiling

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 47 in Hobart
993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
702 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountainside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainside Hotel

Address: 40 Brooker Ave, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hobart
#3 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hobart
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $85 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountainside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal address in Hobart for both business and leisure. Walk to the CBD, Historic Waterfront and Salamanca and it's an easy drive to all main attractions in Southern Tasmania. Quiet 4 star rooms with luxurious beds, and air-conditioning for a great nights sleep. Broadband internet, Austar, offstreet parking, breakfast and dinner prices available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fountainside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountainside Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing