We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Hobart” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macquarie Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Macquarie Manor
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place in Hobart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2007

We have just had a four day stay at the Macquarie Manor and the staff, accomodation and overall aspect of the Manor was excellent. Could not fault at all.
Just a short walk from the world famous Salamanca Markets and Hobarts wharf & dock area. Walking distance to the Botanical gardens and the Hobart Casino which is on the opposite side of Hobart.
Our Queen Heritage room was quiet, spacious and excellently decorated are of the price range AU$190 (for both of us) , this includes a full cooked breakfast, which really sets you up for a great day.
So nice to have accomodation where you can relax in comfort either in your room or in the lounge area.
Extremely friendly owners and staff look after every need you have, with great advice on local attractions.
We will most definitely stay at the Macquarie Manor when we holiday next in Tasmania.
I would recommend the Macquarie Manor to anyone who wants a great place to stay in Hobart.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank JockAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    81
    57
    31
    14
See reviews for
15
150
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney. Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2007

I chose to stay at Macquarie Manor because 1/ the rating it received on TripAdvistor and 2/ it's quintessential to stay in one of the many heritage-listed properties in Tasmania as that is part of the charm of visiting TAS. M.M. is very well positioned - about a block and half from Salamanca Place. The room we got was spacious and feels like your own home. The decor is traditional style (remember it is a heritage place!) Note: it is shower-only and rather small as is their TV. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2007

Excellent and friendly boutique hotel with very friendly and helpful staff who know what customer service is about. Superb cooked and ontinental buffet breakfast.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank AshesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2006

Just wanted to add my compliments to this property and hosts as well. We booked on Wotif and also got a Heritage Room, no. 4 which was spacious and lovely with real character. The fact that they also supply free broadband was also a nice extra and a surprise. Close to everything as well as a terrific restaurant - The Astor Grill. Highly recommend.

We tried to stay at the Quality Manor on the last night of our holiday too but they were booked out unfortunately.

  • Liked — The quality of the furnishings, closeness to restaurants and the markets by foot
  • Disliked — Having to carry the bags up flights of stair, they do have a lift but not always available
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room a little back from the busy road if noise is an issue for you
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buderim queensland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2006

We arrived at the Maquarie Manor, and were warmly greeted by John. It was a simple and quick and very pleasant booking procedure, and nothing was too much trouble, we were told to ask if we required anything at all.

The breakfast was lovely, with lots of variety to suit all tastes and Helen stayed a few minutes each morning talking to guests, enough to even know our nicknames. Of course armed with that information, that is how I was then addressed, and it all added to the intimate nature of the Hotel and the overall pleasantness of our stay at Maquarie Manor.

Do yourself a favour when in Hobart and stay there.

  • Liked — history
  • Tips/Secrets — stay there
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank arthur14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2006

We enjoyed the space and luxury of a Heritage Suite - plenty of room to stretch out and enjoy the old world charm - close to the city, markets, restaurants.
Best of all was the personal touch of the hosts Jon and Helen - they made time to talk and lots of tips for things to do and places to go.
Parking at the back door or on the street in front very convenient.

Fred & Sue

  • Liked — personal touch
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank FOTOFREAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Tasmania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2006

What a find right in the CBD. Excellent service and attention to detail; beautifully furnished large rooms in one of Hobart's fine old sandstone buildings. The full cooked breakfast was a great way to start the day.

Helpful?
5 Thank Leroygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#19 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#17 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macquarie Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macquarie Manor

Property: Macquarie Manor
Address: 172 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macquarie Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the middle of Hobart City. Walking distance to major tourist city attractions. Limited Parking is available at $15.00 per day on a first in, first served basis. The guest lounge , bar and breakfast restaurant is very contemporary in design and the room rates are designed for the budget traveller. Rooms are large, air conditioned with modern bathrooms. Check in is between the hours of 2pm and 7pm. Check out is 10am Luggage storage is available for $5.00 per day. A continental breakfast is free to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Macquarie Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Macquarie Manor Hotel Hobart
Quality Macquarie Manor Hobart
Quality Inn Hobart
Macquarie Manor Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing