We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macquarie Manor
Nearby Hotels
$220
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$146
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Lodge on Elizabeth(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$103
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lenna of Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$179
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 429(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$93
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$179
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$125
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Salamanca Inn(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$163
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fountainside Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$70
$68
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islington Hotel(Hobart)
$398
$376
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveler rating
116
93
69
33
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
93
69
33
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage listed buildingmacquarie streethuge roomold world charmhot breakfastold buildingsmall bathroomsalamanca placenight's sleepwithin walking distancecomfortable bedsalamanca marketscentral locationa lovely stayold stylechecking outafter hours
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 327 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We booked this through a mystery hotel deal and were pleasantly surprised. Felt like stepping back in time - beautiful furniture , very comfortable bed and black out curtains. Wonderful service at checkin. Dining room looked stunning although we did not have the chance to eat there. Centrally placed close to the market.

Even in the front room (17) barely heard traffic, although could hear guests entering/leaving. Would recommend another room if available.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Beautiful hotel, lovely decorated, parking is a bit of a let down as you can only get small cats parked and only around 10, lovely and safe needing 2 keys to access after dark,would recommend hotel for sure :)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Aimsta82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I don't know how this hotel received the four star rating. The rooms were indeed huge and the furniture was what I would call 'old' not 'vintage' or 'antique'. The bathroom was a small cube dropped in the corner of the original room and the decor was over-tired beige and brown. We didn't see a single person on arrival as it was after 5pm when the hotel apparently closes. Our key was in an envelope in the keysafe along with half a dozen others. Fine but there was no one to show us the way to our room or help with bags should that have been necessary. As there is no elevator and the rooms are all on the first floor this is a real possibility. The location is pretty good within easy walking distance of the main area of Hobart city. We didn't eat here because Daci and Daci is just around the corner along with several other rather good cafés so I can't comment on breakfast. Not somewhere to which I'd return even though the price was very low at $69/night. It was worth exactly that!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTLee2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Huge room (and I mean HUGE!) in a great location. New, spotless bathroom kept immaculately clean by housekeeping every day. 5 mins walk to Salamanca Market and the Mona Ferry etc. When we were there (Sept '13) it was nice and quiet. Great oldy-worldy ambience. Not for you, if you're looking for the Hilton, or super-mod, but we had a very nice, comfortable stay. No views or external windows in the bedroom, except some opening onto the hallway, which are covered by thick acoustic curtains at night. Beds a little on the firm side, but that was OK by us. Ceilings are so high I hate to think how the cleaners would remove a cobweb if there ever was one...! (and I'm not suggesting there were, so don't get me wrong!). The host was very friendly and helpful, so we had a lovely time. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazB333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Booked at bargain price and after reading some critical reviews was anticipating disappointment. This did not eventuate and could not fault the accommodation. It's obviously run with limited staff but that did not affect the stay. We had a spacious room which fronted the main road but noise was minimal. The parking arrangements are restrictive but workable. It is an old heritage listed building that would require constant and expensive maintenance. Keeping the tariff at an affordable level by the owners would be challenging but they are doing a great job. Highly recomended

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6,244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews