We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and Old”
Review of Macquarie Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macquarie Manor
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a conversion of an old building which looks good on the web but is a very bad conversion. There is no common space, except for a breakfast room with no windows, which also serves as the enterance to the rear rooms. These rooms have no exterior windows and are entered via verandah. The plumbing is very basic and all the fittings are the cheapest available. There may be better rooms as is shown on other reviews on tripadvisor, so make sure you see the room first.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TOI_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Macquarie Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 308 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

The room we had didn't have a window which is always a bit negative. The car parking was adequate for a small car like ours. The location is central and the service from the people filling in at reception was very good. The cleanliness was ok. It cost us $99 using wotif mystery hotel and that was about right for what we got.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

booked this room online as a overnighter in hobart had a front room ground floor overlooking the street big windows great to watch the world go by from what felt like my private 1900s drawing room lots of space big bed and sitting area with entry without having to go though repcetion really has a feel you can only really find in hobart quite part of the CBD but quick walk to main street and harbour overall a great location check in and check out where quick and informed breakfast good and cheap I would stay again next time I am in hobart

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscar c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I booked this laughably self-rated four-star “luxury heritage” hotel through a Wotif mystery hotel special. On arrival, it was more reminiscent of an old boarding house, and at the hallway alcove that passed for reception, I was abruptly asked for my credit card to swipe. I was then led through the dingy dining room out back to my dark cavern of a room, with a ceiling higher than the room was narrow, and a window onto the hallway. Oh well, the rate was cheap and after hiking the Overland Track, a hot shower (when the hot water eventually flowed through the old pipes) and a soft bed was heaven.
I was flying out next afternoon, so asked about a late checkout, but the manager said it was $25 for every 30 minutes after 10 am, adding some tardy guests were surprised to be hit with this charge later (I wonder why!). He was thinking about putting a sign in the room about it, no doubt to add to his existing collection of signs, telling guests what not to do and threatening penalties. Guests serve the hotel here it seems, not the other way around.
Next morning, I was told I could safely leave my pack in the dining room. I had a few hours to kill and asked what might be open on Good Friday. “Don’t know, you’ll have to find out for yourself,” I was told with a practised smile. When I returned, my bag was sitting in the hallway. Not exactly secure left luggage, but I said goodbye, happy to leave behind this Tasmanian Fawlty Towers, vowing never again to book a Wotif mystery room.
I thought nothing more of this forgettable hotel, until a week later I found an unauthorised $25 deduction from my credit card. When I queried it over the phone, I was told I had been charged for “excessive body odour”. Hahahaha, I kid you not. Granted, I had been hiking in the Tasmanian wilderness for four days, and probably was a bit smelly on arrival, but what an appalling, offensive, inappropriate, unprofessional, offhand, cowardly and ultimately gouging way to handle a sensitive and embarrassing matter. The manager not only accused me of smelling out reception, requiring airing of the hotel, but of making the room and bed uninhabitable to justify his charge. After having my personal hygiene impugned for the first time in my life, and all but branded a toxic biohazard, I now think this mickey mouse hotel, with its miserable grasping attitude and punitive service, sums up Tasmania’s amateurish tourism industry. Avoid this hotel, and Tasmania!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
17  Thank thanksalotyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I liked the place it is something different from the regular holiday inn, marriotts etc that I normally stay at. Think of it as a 3.5 star and get a good rate and you should get good value for your dollar.
Location is good. Room was large with two bed and a sitting area. Bathroom is small, but shower was hot and good, heating lamps, clean. Bed was ok, had better, had worse.
Kettle had a fauly opening and peanuts in minibar were out of date but otherwise everything was fine.
There are 2 flights of steps up to the rooms.
Lady at reception was friendly. No reception before 7am when I departed so just dropped keys.
Anyone who says the rooms are dark hasnt travelled to the USA before, lighting is ok.
I wasnt sure if internet was included or was going to be charged. Parking is limited behind the property, i believe it is free, however they ask you to leave keys.
In summary for the dollars I paid I was happy.
shuttle from airport is $17 1 way or $30 return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozdunkeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel looks beautiful from the outside, and perfectly located for a trip to Salamanca. But as other reviewers have mentioned, there is certainly no doorman: I carried my bag up and down several flights of stairs. As other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms are dark and merely old fashioned (rather than 'heritage'), and I too thought I smelled stale cigarette smoke when I entered my room, but maybe it's just the effect of being on a major road. It's an old building so I expect creaks when people walk around but there is no soundproofing and I could hear other guests' TVs and conversations, which means they could probably hear mine too.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lebeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at Macquarie Manor and we absolutely love this place! The staff are super friendly and helpful, the room we stayed in was spacious and beautifully decorated with heritage decor. I love how much character this wonderful hotel has! The room is like your own little getaway. Once the door is closed you can't hear any noise from other rooms or from the streets. Breakfast was lovely, we had the hot breakfast almost everyday we were there and were never in want for more. It is the perfect location- short walk to shopping, cafes, movies, park, and wharf- and ticks all the boxes for us! Would highly recommend staying here. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
679 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#21 of 48 in Hobart
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macquarie Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macquarie Manor

Address: 172 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range: $83 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macquarie Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Hotel is situated in the middle of Hobart City. Close walking distance to major tourist city attractions including Salamanca Place. Limited Parking is available at $15.00 per day on a first in, first served basis. The guest lounge with its beautiful open fireplace and the breakfast restaurant is very contemporary in design. Rooms are large, air conditioned with modern bathrooms. Check in is between the hours of 2pm and 5pm. A convenient Late check in option, at no additional cost, is also available. Check out is 10am Free Luggage storage is available for those guest enjoying the last day in Hobart. A continental breakfast is free to all guests inclusive of Espresso Coffee freshly prepared by our team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Hotwire so you can book your Macquarie Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Macquarie Manor Hotel Hobart
Quality Macquarie Manor Hobart
Quality Inn Hobart
Macquarie Manor Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing