We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wrest Point Motor Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Hobart
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 429(Hobart)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
9
24
18
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
24
18
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain casinostayed heretea coffeesandy baybus stopground floorrooms are comfortablea great stayplace to stayconferencefacilitiesaccommodationgymmirroraustralia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 63 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2013

On the website it looked OK and the price looked OK............... but a word of advice, even though 'mountainside' room sounds enticing and the description reads well, these are tired old rooms that need a big renovation. Although the bathrooms have been renovated, the rest of the room is desperately in need of renovation. The TV is something that should go to the dump and the view (expecting a mountain view) is of the casino car park. Our rate also included the buffet breakfast which rates as one of the least average I have experienced. Unless you want to stay at the Casino then try and find something closer to Salamanca and pay the bit extra. Now I know why they had vacancies.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wow, I stayed at Wrest Point (Mountain side) 10 years ago and things haven't changed. Dated furnishings, old style TVs, wear and tear on the walls. Especially loved the 80's style light fixtures around the mirror in the bathroom (NOT!). This is an embarrassment to the Federal Group and Tasmania. The only good thing was quick check in and out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Macleej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Have just checked into wrest point today. Had lunch at one of the restaurants and werent spoken to very nicely by anyone we came into contact with. Checked into our "mountain view" room which is a disgusting room with a view of the parking lot. The room is so outdated its probably older than i am. Beige walls, turd brown bed covers and a very old tv. Beds look to be a double and single. If its a queen size, its a tiny queen bed. Im astonished at how terrible these rooms are and dont even have the view as promised. No one could help us with a carpark, no one bothered to help us with our luggage. If i ever come to tasmania again, i will never stay at wrest point casino. Ive stayed in nicer road side motels. Whenever we go to jupitersnon the goldcoast we never get treated this way and their rooms are nowhere near this bad. Think ill just stay on the mainland from now on.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabby1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a huge disappointment. Small rooms and in need of a huge update. Pricing was outrageous - $360 per night. No redeeming features Mountainside meant that the hotel block was 100ft closer to the mountain - view of the parkade.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay here again
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 00_Kevin_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Over 20 years ago I stayed at the wrest point hotel. It's was of an ok standard then. When I opened the door to my room for the duration of a conference I thought I was having a flashback. Nothing had changed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALTTax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews