We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing's changed”
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wrest Point
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2011

I first stayed at this hotel more than 20 years ago when it was reasonably modern. The problem is it still looks the same.

Tired rooms, drab décor, old cathode ray TVs (the smallest I have seen for years) packaged into what looked like a country motel room with a double and a single bed.

If you are desperate to gamble and want a good view, this is for you. If you want good amenities, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieStrategist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 993 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2011

Doting staff............helpful and courteous ............made our stay that much more pleasurable.
Helpful with tips of where to go and visit and give you directions.
Cannot fault at all..................brilliant!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XiaongMao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Stayed for two nights and it was good! Check in and check out was fast and efficient. Staff friendly. The room was spacious as there were three of us, beds were comfy, cleanliness was good. For the price we paid, it was worth the value! It is about 7mins drive to central hobart and Salamanca area as well as Battery Point. It cost us about $11 per ride from the hotel to Salamanca and the city. The conceirge dude was very helpful. We decided to have breakfast and ordered the full cooked breakfast, a bit pricy but it tasted yummy! Didnt get to see the casino as we had very limited time there. One confusing moment though, housekeeping half finished our room...it wasnt a big deal for us tho but it made us wonder why our double bed was done while the other single bed wasn't. (yes, we stayed in a room with a double bed and one single). Overall, i will come back to stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaAmeliaOsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

I booked this hotel as it was close to the University of Tasmania. The directions to our room were so complicated it took us several attempts to find it. ("Take the foyer lift to the Mezzanine level follow the green carpet about 40m then turn L, then R, then L through double doors into another corridor to a lift and take it down to the first floor, turn left and your room is along there!") At least the room was quiet. The hotel was full of senior citizens during the day and my daughter commented that she was the youngest person there by at least 50 years!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelbourneLeapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

This hotel has gorgeous views from the rooms - we stayed in the executive suites on level 10 although extremely dated and plain decor. Nothing to rave on about with inside the room.
Concierge EXCELLENT free valet parking, nice entrance, the buffett meal was the best buffett I have eaten in a long time.
Dated building on the outside but cheap accommodation we only paid around the $150 for top of the range rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

By far the worst place I stayed during my three-week Australia trip. Be warned that this is a casino with lodging attached: if you are not prepared to stay up all night gambling and drinking, your rest will certainly be disturbed by those who are. I have never stayed at a noisier establishment: the laughter and yelling carried on until after 2 am, in rooms, in the hallway, any place two or more people congregated. My "mountain side room" for $119 may have been on the mountain side; all I could see was a parking lot on street level. The interior of the room was dismal. It is a drive to anything worth seeing in Hobart. Would never never stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cmj5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

We stayed at the Wrest Point while visiting family. Wonderful warm welcome, and we were priviliged to be upgraded from our water's edge room into a Tower room on the 10th floor, with water views. When I say water views, it was a full panoramic view of the river, the Eastern Shore, Sandy Bay and the Tasman bridge (beautiful lit up at night).

Decor was old fashioned but not old - very good quality furnishings and textiles. The room had a double and single bed, possibly the most comfortable bed we've stayed in away from home... I felt no rush to get home into my own bed, that's how good.

Room was cleaned daily, towels replaced, and any complementary toiletries were also replaced as they were used. We used the leisure facilities, the pool was really warm, as was the jacuzzi (felt like lobsters in a pot!)

We enjoyed an evening in the Birdcage Bar (one of many bars and restaurants in the hotel) with a singer (lots of smooth Sinatra style music), and breakfast in the Coffee Shop one morning (we had the full breakfast, but would have been happy just with the continental breakfast - fresh fruit, juices, various pastries, toast, croissants, yoghurt and choices of compotes, tea and coffee ... would happily have missed the cooked food). We ate with family most evenings so didn't have chance to try other restaurants. There was a kettle, toaster and fridge in the room, with complementary coffee, tea etc, and a very well stocked mini bar.

The staff were great, so helpful, and always a concierge when you wanted one. Easy to find a parking space, apart from Friday evening when there was an event on, but the concierge would quite willingly park your car for you if necessary. Friday and Saturday evenings were "interesting" when returning to the hotel from family late in the evening, not sure I would do it again, with crowds of lively people around the hotel waiting for taxis, but thats to be expected with a casino in the hotel.

All in all, a really pleasant experience, a hotel that we would definitely return to, and recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheshireHappybride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.5 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,297 reviews
1.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
1,238 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $105 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing