We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooo Kitch”
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wrest Point
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sooo Kitch”
Reviewed April 30, 2007

This place is TasVegas -- swamped by pokies, buffets, and outlandish shades of aqua. Its a bit of fun, but not recommended for people who don't like the kitch of a casino. The rooms are hilarious -- they are boudoirs, of various shades of maroon. We found it funny, and a bit of fun.

I have to admit, the view out to the Derwent from the rooms are fantastic, the staff are very nice, and the valet service works well.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    380
    184
    58
    31
See reviews for
134
433
44
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2007

My husband and I have stayed at the "cass" many times now and have always found it to be great. This time was no exception.

Our room was lovely and clean and had a great view of Mt Wellington. Very relaxing and quiet room.

That night we went to pier ! for dinner which was lovely modern food, not too expensive either, which is a big bonus when you are travelling. After dinner we took a walk along Salamanca place and checked out some of the nightlife there.

Here's a tip girls.......... Don't wear 2 inch heels to Salamanca!!! It is cobblestones and well....you get the picture!! Well, down I went and sprained my ankle really badly!! Ouch!!

We grabbed a taxi (really quick and easy to get a cab here) Back to Wrest Point. When the doorman saw us hobble out of the cab he could not do enough to help. The concierge was also fabulous and got us up to our room quickly. Once there he orgainised for room service to bring us a big bucket of ice and asked us if we would like a doctor to be called. I decided that it was not too bad so did not need a doctor. He then strapped my ankle with a bandage and put it on ice. This guy was brilliant. Obviously had alot of first aid training!!

Reception called us in the morning to see if all was ok and if we would like to have our breakfast in our room if I was unable to make it to the "coffee Shop".

We went for breakfast at the coffee shop located in the hotel and it was really great. Excellent bufffet and good coffee.

Spent the next couple of days hobbling!!! Really enjoyed the rest of our break! Will definitely be back. This time without the heels!! LOL.

  • Liked — Clean. Friendly staff. Valet parking. Great doorman
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Endless-Summer-Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2007

My husband & I went to Hobart for a short break and we stayed in the Wrest Point tower hotel for one night. Room looked like it has been refurbished.

Good points:
Check in was no hassle at all
Friendly and helpful staff
Room size is good
Bathroom and Room are clean.
Good shower pressure
Good variety of restaurants to suit all budget

Bad points:
Spa bath is a bit dated.

I would highly recommend dining at Pier One restaurant. Would we stay here again? Yes but we would book it on the internet ourselves instead of going through the tourist information centre in Hobart, it would have cost us less if we have book it over the internet.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2007

although looking a bit dated, this s a good hotel and the tower rooms have great views of the harbour / mountain etc. food is excellent, and staff very friendly. it has a casino attached which may be a good or bad thing but it is not "in your face".

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank chrishallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2006

We stayed two nights at the Wrest Point and paid $145 per night for a harbour view room. It is a pretty nice hotel, the staff are friendly, and there is a free valet parking service.

Its in a good location if you don't mind staying just outside the city. Walking to Salamanca took about 40 minutes through Battery Point. It is then another 10 minutes or so to get to the central shopping mall.

Our room provided a great view of the harbour. There is a pretty good gym and heated indoor pool in the complex. The room was clean and of a reasonable size. The only negatives are the fact that there was no bath and the TV is pretty small.

We would definately stay here again for this price.

  • Liked — Nice clean rooms, good views
  • Disliked — Small TV, no bath
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank moccas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

I last stayed in the Wrest Point tower 31 years ago, but was very pleased to see it looking modern inside this time round. The views of Hobart, the Derwent River and Mt Wellington are great. The staff were all pleasant and eager to please. The casino rooms were mainly filled with retirees, but they all seemed happy. The restaurant locations are great, and the local walks around Sandy Bay and into Hobart are all fun. I did not use the other recreational facilities (pool and tennis), but they looked good. I would definitely stay here again ... hopefully sooner.

  • Liked — Sensational location; well kept rooms; great staff
  • Disliked — Some parts of the casino
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you stay in the tower!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 31, 2006

I visited at the end of Jan 2006 and what a suprise!

This hotel is looking very, very dated and rough around the edges. Maybe it's just that I have been to some splendid hotels elsewhere recently, but this left me cold.

I stayed in a room overlooking the river, and the view was nice.

The room decor however left a lot to be desired. Like a 1970's motel, it was all faded green. Carpets, green (and stained in places), chairs green, bed-covers green. Bedding looked like it had seen better days.

The walls are paper thin and anyone chatting next door is clearly audible. Plumbing noises were also a constant distraction: If the shower next door was on, it sounded like a jet taking off.

Restaurant was fine.

Bars were fine, live music pleasant enough.

The hotel is a good 30 minute walk or $8 taxi-ride from Hobart town centre.

This hotel mainly attracts an older clientelle, judging from the other guests during my visit, who may well be delighted by the decor and facilities! If you are under 50, I would explore other choices.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
1,217 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 48 in Hobart
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Property: Wrest Point
Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. Other key features include: - Free Wi-Fi in all accommodation rooms - Free FOXTEL channels - Individually controlled air-conditioning and heating in all rooms - All non-smoking rooms - Solid constructed rooms for quiet night sleep - Free car parking and valet car parking service available - Saturday shuttle bus service available to Salamanca Market ($5pp return) - Free access to health club with indoor pool, gymnasium, sauna and spa - Free access to onsite tennis court and mini-golf - Comprehensive 24-hour onsite security monitoring and staff - 24-hour Reception and Guest Services Desk - Water ferry services accessible from the hotel pier - Casino entertainment - Live international and national entertainment acts Enjoy the comfort, space and wide-ranging facilities of one of Hobart's premier hotels, a range of entertainment offerings and located close to Salamanca and CBD precincts. Wrest Point is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing