We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wrest Point
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had a pleasant stay, overpriced for the standard of the room, they really need a makeover, who sleeps in a double bed in quality accommodation these days,need at least a queen size bed and clean fresh modern decor

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazpeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your views on the decor and bed Shazpeta. Apart from a couple of rooms, Wrest Point offers mostly a queen/single configuration or a king bed. Next time you stay please request a king room and I am sure we will be able to accomodate your request.

The rooms decor is constantly being updated so hopefully you will plesantly surprised on your next visit south, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    375
    181
    58
    31
See reviews for
134
428
43
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The staff at the Wrest Point were fantastic, from the reception staff, concierge staff, were all very friendly and helpful. The Hotel as you can determine from the photographs is 80's style needing to be upgraded. The views were spectacular from our room. The rooms are dated but clean.
The beds were very uncomfortable. Wi-Fi was good. Free parking was a bonus. The buffet breakfast was very disappointing, usual fair but poorly cooked & presented.

Room Tip: Water Views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for sharing your views on Trip Advisor Richard. It was great to hear the team looked after you well - they are certainly a great assett to the company and friendly helpful service is what we do really well!

It was great to hear you appreciated the cleanliness of the room, free parking and free wi-fi. Thanks for your comments regarding the buffet, we appreciate your honesty and will review this asap.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile


We stay at the wrest point hotel due to its price and the facility of parking and wifi!
The hotel is a bit old but keep in good condition.
the staff is professional and attentive when needed! location is ok if you are driving!
I found the hotel to be basic but clean!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share you balanced opinion of Wrest Point. It was good to hear you enjoyed the free WiFi and free parking and that the team delivered attentive and professional service.
I hope that you had time to enjoy one of our five restaurants and four bars during your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed in the Wrest Point Tower during our recent Honeymoon and we couldn’t have chosen a better hotel. The hotel was well equipped, well maintained, well located close to the city but away from the noise of the city traffic.
All the staff from check-in to checkout, housekeeping staff, room service staff, concierge and porters were all courteous and friendly and made you feel welcome and relaxed at all times.
The views from our suite in the Tower were magnificent.
We had originally booked for 4 nights, but due to a problem with our next accommodation we returned to Wrest Point for another 4 nights, where they were once again so friendly and helpful fitting us back in at short notice. I highly recommend the Wrest Point Hotel and all its restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Welcoming, warm service is what we pride ourselves on so it was great to hear that so many of the team delivered that during your stay, particularly for such an important occasion as your honeymoon! Thanks for sharing your experiences, those images from the Tasmanian Air Adventure flight look quite spectacular! We look forward to welcoming you back for a few anniversaries in the future.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed in the tower and had excellent views over the water. The rooms are a little dated but very clean and with all the modern conveniences. Rooms well sound proofed and beds were comfy! Service was simply excellent!

Room Tip: The tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerijhorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
It sounds like you had a great stay and enjoyed the incredible views of the Derwent which are indeed spectacular. All of our guests remark on the great service our team delivers so it was good to hear you were no exception. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed in the tower and had a great view of the water from the ninth floor. The rooms in the tower are not big. Two and adults and 2 kids under 8 fill the room. That is fine as we didn't spend much time there. The rooms are clean which is a big deal for me.

Modern? Not so much. But I'll take clean over that.

The breakfast included in the room was really average at best. For the girls it was fine. A little bit of everything but it was really quite average and not worth the $$.

The property is okay. On. Sliding scale for Hobart it's hard to say, but it's not comparable to what you'll get in the other capital cities. Just so you set your expectations, not to ward you off.

The staff is friendly and helpful. I won't discourage you from staying here, it's nice. It's just not awesome.

Room Tip: Face the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnsey9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Cleanliness is indeed very important to our guests and we take it very seriously so thanks for recognising the fact the room was sparkling. I was dissapointed to read your comments about the breakfast, I will certainly make sure we review this asap as it's such an important meal we need to make sure we are giving our guests the best start to the day. Thanks for sharing your balanced view, it is much appreciated.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Although Wrest Point Casino has been around for a long time, it does have some charm. The location is lovely with great views of the Derwent River, Mt Wellington and Hobart.
The accommodation is spacious and very clean, and very Hobart. A bit old fashioned with plenty of timber. Not sure this all comes together in the foyer, with a multitude of different colours, and building materials. I think the front door and outside could do with a little TLC. The staff are all very helpful and courteous and this makes it a very nice place to stay. The full breakfasts are good with a touch of Tasmanian produce, in the jams and honey. I am very disappointed in the amount that we were charged to change from at Wotif booking, and this will definitely impact on our staying here again. We tried the Pier One restaurant which is in part of the casino complex.
The food was good, however it did lack imagination and although the quality was there the flare wasn't.
Thank you again to the pleasant, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a Harbour view. Some of the accommodation is quite ordinary in the older part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Del255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Wrest Point, I was glad to hear you enjoyed the comfortable rooms and that we looked after you well. Your observations about the food in both Pier One and the Coffee Shop buffet are great as it gives us the opportunity to continue with some concepts and amend others. The decor is something we continue to update, thanks for sharing your views on this also.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Hobart
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Property: Wrest Point
Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. Other key features include: - Free Wi-Fi in all accommodation rooms - Free FOXTEL channels - Individually controlled air-conditioning and heating in all rooms - All non-smoking rooms - Solid constructed rooms for quiet night sleep - Free car parking and valet car parking service available - Saturday shuttle bus service available to Salamanca Market ($5pp return) - Free access to health club with indoor pool, gymnasium, sauna and spa - Free access to onsite tennis court and mini-golf - Comprehensive 24-hour onsite security monitoring and staff - 24-hour Reception and Guest Services Desk - Water ferry services accessible from the hotel pier - Casino entertainment - Live international and national entertainment acts Enjoy the comfort, space and wide-ranging facilities of one of Hobart's premier hotels, a range of entertainment offerings and located close to Salamanca and CBD precincts. Wrest Point is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing