We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could easily improve”
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wrest Point
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
South Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Could easily improve”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed at Wrest Point for 1 evening. The front counter staff varied in knowledge and attention to guests from average to excellent. The room was good, clean and quiet although after 40 years could do with a bit of a lift. I used the Business Centre and had problems with passwords not working on the PC, to the PC crashing numerous times! I think that they are old 386's which have passed their use by date a long time ago. Breakfast was excllent, great range and quality. A little attention in some areas would make a lot of difference!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geremiahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    375
    181
    58
    31
See reviews for
134
428
43
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Narellan, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We arrived by car early evening after 9 hr road trip and impressed with the Doorman's helpfulness with luggage and car parking. Check-in was a breeze and we entered our room literally within 5 mins. Views from 11th floor of the harbour were excellent and the room was exceptionally well furnished, clean and comfortable which definitely matched expectations. We sought help from the Concierge regarding points of interest, attractions etc. I have to congratulate Daniel for his explanation and maps on the subject which proved invaluable during our stay. On consultation of our compendium, we decided to 'eat in' at the Coffee Shop Buffet. At this stage we didn't think a foot note for reservations applied to guests as an external number was listed. At the Coffee Shop desk we had to wait 3 mins before acknowledgement by waitstaff whilst finishing personal conversations. No greeting apart from "Do you have a booking?" As the answer was "No, although we are guests". This abrasive redhead responded with "no booking, no seating that's the policy here, try next door".
We noted 3 available tables at this stage and clearly debating this issue was not an option with such a condescending employee. Our subsequent Bistro meal was excellent and the staff extremely polite in contrast. An hour later, one of the 3 Coffee Shop tables was still vacant. A $20 guest spend instead of $70 each night. Obviously Food & Beverage is not interested in generating revenue. Thankfully the breakfast buffet proved a more positive experience with customer service. The property has gaming facilities that is an attraction for locals so weekends are busy. Plenty of Security Staff to deal with potential anit-social issues which is re-assuring for discerning guests. Despite the deliberate rudeness from one "bad apple", the rest of the staff excelled with service standards. The Wrest has everything and well worth recommending.

Room Tip: North facing 11th upwards. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melvyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworthville, NSW
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I recently stayed at Wrestpoint in early Dec. One day each at the beginning and end of a conducted bus tour of Tassie. Most of us on the tour were roomed in the Mountain View Wing (probably budget rooms) which is a separate building opposite the main Wrestpoint Tower. I don't have any major complaints - the bed was comfy, shower OK, all the amenities as expected - just no mountain view. The view I had was of a gravelled courtyard and fence (I could open the window to let in fresh air). I was on the 1st floor with no lift. Luckily, one of the girls at reception bought my bag to my room, poor thing, but I did lug it back down on day of departure, not wanting to wait for a porter. The lighting in my room was a tad gloomy, but the room was quiet. The buffet brekky was very nice, good selection, as was the evening buffet meal. Even though Sandy Bay, where the hotel is situated is a lovely spot, it is a little way from the city.

Room Tip: If you do stay in the cheaper Mountain View Wing, and they offer you a room in the 400 range - bewar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Possomchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed here for work and had the better half with me and had a great time. After having a last minute change to work plans we tried to book a room on the phone direct with the hotel only to be told they were all booked out but then when trying to check for other options online found a room here and I booked it online (which was strange). Anyway from then on it was all great, the room was spacious, the view was great, the bed was comfy and it was located right where we wanted to be. The breakfast and meals we had were all first class as well and even the casino is worht a visit. All told we had a great time there and next time I am in Hobart I will book here as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarcev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I attended a recent conference - loved being slightly out of the way and a nice stroll into the CBD and Salamander markets. Hotel rooms are quite spacious but the views were just superb. What a beautiful city Hobart it. Air conditioning didn't seem to be able to be adjusted despite the 'controls' but otherwise perfectly comfortable and an ideal conference venue.

Room Tip: Go for water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I spent one night at the Wrest Point Hotel, a part of Australia's first casino. The purpose was a board meeting for which the company arranged accommodation. The actual meeting facilities were good and the hotel room was OK. The bed was comfortable, although the air conditioning was mysterious in appearing to run all the time and not change temperature much even if the thermostat was adjusted. The colour scheme, a mustard colour in the main, was surprising in this day and age and not really attractive. The colour is used extensively throughout the hotel. The bathroom was functional and the furnishings not bad. I had a buffet dinner in the Coffee Shop and did not consider it good value for money. The table service for drinks was slow. I ordered a wine to enjoy with my food but by the time it arrived I had more than half finished my food. The buffet food seemed to have been in the bain mairie a long time with adverse impacts on texture and taste. Steamed vegetables, as an example, were soft and tasteless. The location of the hotel is also unfortunate being so far from downtown Hobart, a beautiful small city. Getting into the city requires more than a walk and there are other good hotels in the city itself. It is difficult to see why anyone would stay at Wrest Point other than for a conference or the casino, although to be fair, they do seem to have an entertainment schedule that could be a lure. Having said all that, the staff were helpful and approachable and absolutely efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatheralbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The decor is a little dated but the comfort of the room and the bathroom made up for it. The beds were very comfortable. Give it a couple more years and the hotel will be retro. The hotel is 3.5km from the centre of Hobart, there is a bus stop outside but buses are infrequent. Taxi fare into Hobart is around $10. There are some shops and restaurants about 1km away. If you are in Hobart to see the sights and don't have a car then the hotel is a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetpeaOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Hobart
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Property: Wrest Point
Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. Other key features include: - Free Wi-Fi in all accommodation rooms - Free FOXTEL channels - Individually controlled air-conditioning and heating in all rooms - All non-smoking rooms - Solid constructed rooms for quiet night sleep - Free car parking and valet car parking service available - Saturday shuttle bus service available to Salamanca Market ($5pp return) - Free access to health club with indoor pool, gymnasium, sauna and spa - Free access to onsite tennis court and mini-golf - Comprehensive 24-hour onsite security monitoring and staff - 24-hour Reception and Guest Services Desk - Water ferry services accessible from the hotel pier - Casino entertainment - Live international and national entertainment acts Enjoy the comfort, space and wide-ranging facilities of one of Hobart's premier hotels, a range of entertainment offerings and located close to Salamanca and CBD precincts. Wrest Point is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing