We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located, good”
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wrest Point
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Hotel is a little bit older, but not terribly run down by any stretch of the imagination. Rooms were quite big, and the service staff were excellent.

Downstairs you have quite a few choices for food/drink. The carpark is provided free of charge which is great for anyone else who rents a car. A little further down the street (~2km) there are plenty of places to eat if your looking for variety. Otherwise one of their restaurants also has a decent view of the harbour

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandrashan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Wrest Point is indeed a great place to base yourself whilst in the beautiful city of Hobart so thankyou for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed our excellent service and free parking. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

768 - 774 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great front door service, taking our bags straight to our room (we had several as we had our 11mth old with us). Concierge helpful with any questions we asked. Newspaper delivered to yr room each morning. Late checkout at 11am. Rooms (we stayed twice) on both occasions clean, spacious, plenty of spare pillows, functional bathroom, enough room for our portacot - very comfortable stays. You could adjust the aircon in yr room yourself. Spa on lower ground floor VERY warm temp (which we liked), we had it all to ourselves.
Loft restaurant hit & miss with meals, disorganised, table numbers mixed up with most ppl's orders! It had a great view though.
All staff we encountered at the hotel were friendly, courteous & helpful.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review Wrest Point, it was great to read your comments on the fantastic service you recieved from our concierge team - they were also thrilled to read them!
The comments about the Loft were concerning and have been discussed with the service team in the restaurant.
Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

40 years old, and kind of showing its age, but still a good option for Hobart!
Huge rooms, comfy beds and good location in scenic Sandy Bay. My husband's 80yo parents loved the small but functional casino, and appreciated the sweeping waterfront views from our first floor tower rooms.
Elevators tiny and painfully slow, bathrooms showing their age along with the ugly stippled ceilings, but comfortable beds and great block out drapes.
We had a horrible cigarette-smoke smell come through the air vents our first night - not sure how or why?
Quite a few dining options on
site - overall a good stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gotigers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Indeed Wrest Point is still going strong after 40 years which we are currently celebrating. It was great to hear you enjoyed your overall stay and your comments in relation to the bathrooms and ceilings will certainly be taken into account for future renovations. The cigarette smoke is a strange one however we will keep an eye (or nose) on this one.
Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel is easy to get to and has free on site car parking with good views in all directons.
The room and bathroom are large very clean with all the usual amenities you would expect of a 4 star hotel. The decor is dated and the outside of the building needs a good clean and paint. The food is first class at reasonable prices, as casino hotel it is retro kitsch if your being nice. If you are looking for a Vegas casino in Australia your in the wrong state.
If you get board with the food of the hotel or casino Salimanca Market is only 2km away with lots of good resturants, If you like french food I would highly recommend Remi de Provence 252 Macquarie Street Hobart 4 km from the hotel. If you don t mind a short drive of 8km Jean-Pascal Patisserie 30 Carlton Street New Town is lovely for breakfast or lunch. A trip to the Top of Mt Wellington is highly recommended, great views, take a jacket as the wind at 1200m above sea level is a lot cooler. Hobart has lots of historic buildings and sites with in a short drive from the hotel making the location great, highly recommned having a car to see all the sights especially if your coming from the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freelancer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thanks for posting your positive review, it is fair to say Wrest Point is not a 'Vegas' style property. As you rightly point out we do however have much to offer with great food and service, all conveniently located within arms reach of the fantastic Hobart attractions. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were finding difficulty finding accomodation in Hobart due to conferences at the time we were these. We chose to stay at Wrest Point. The view from our Harbour room was wonderful, but the rooms are in need of an update. It really needs a juzje....from the dated reception area up. It's a great location, and very convenient. The parking is free if you are staying here, which is great. The coffee shop for breakfast was fine, not exceptional, but needs more finesse. This place has potential. Nice and neat but needs more flair. Very old world, whcih can be quaint, but in this case needs to glitz up in this day and age.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reets666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

It was great to hear your views of our property, we are constantly updating many of our facilties and will certainly introducing some 'glitz' over time. The location is enjoyed by many of our guests, being only 5 mins to Salamanca makes us a great option for tourists and travellers looking to see the best of Hobart. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is not your average glitzy casino hotel and Wrest Point exudes its own old world style which takes you back to the heyday of casino-resort style accomodation. While some people may have certain expectations on what a hotel should or shouldnt look like, places like these offer something unique in what can be a sometimes bland market of mediocre hotels. The place cant be faulted much for its cleanliness and the service from the staff was of a high standard. While staying over 2 days, we ate in the Pier One Restaurant, which was recommended by the desk staff. Seating outside on a covered boardwalk style patio, the food was very good and the setting next to the river was picturesque. We indulged in the activities on offer, including the tennis court and the putting-green styled mini golf course down by the water. The gym was not a polished room full of machines, but had a squat rack and barbell, pull up bar, dumbell rack and a range of other equipment. Heated pool and saunas were good. There were a lot of elderly people staying while we were here - many of which were taking advantage of the casino facilites and 20% senior discount in the buffet, but this is a large hotel and has room to cater for everyone. The tower is older style accomodation with great views of the harbour - the other wings seemed slightly newer but are set away from the water. Taxi is about $10 max into Salamanca and there are always 1 or 2 waiting in the rank close to the main entrance. The Birdcage bar in the lobby was a good spot for pre-dinner drinks and has great retro paintings on the wall which apparently are heritage protected. Overall, if you are looking for a modern, high end hotel this may not be your first choice, but if you can keep an open mind and embrace a step back in time you will be plesantly surprised.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower from about -04 to -09 have the best views of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Wrest Point is indeed an iconic and unique property and it is great to be recognised for all that we have to offer, and there is a lot as you have quite rightly pointed out. It was great that you were able to enjoy so much variety, you really made the most of your time. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Professional courteous reception staff and valets. Rooms very neat and comfy. Views a million. But do yourself a favour and dont include the breakfast buffet in your stay. What looks great and smells great is tasteless or over cooked. Toast and Juice were great but i dont know how much effort it took to make bland tasteless chewy and sour foods but they excel at it here.
Having said that we grabbed a coffee and cake at the Snacks bar the night before and it was excellent. Might need to swap the chefs around.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JaneilC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thankyou for your comments and it is great to hear you enjoyed the fantastic views and comfortable rooms. Our chefs work hard to deliver a great breakfast experience so i was dissapointed to read your comments about the buffet, rest assured these have been passed on to the team as we are always looking at ways to improve the offerings.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.5 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,321 reviews
1.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
707 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $106 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing