We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice neat rooms. But.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wrest Point
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice neat rooms. But.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Professional courteous reception staff and valets. Rooms very neat and comfy. Views a million. But do yourself a favour and dont include the breakfast buffet in your stay. What looks great and smells great is tasteless or over cooked. Toast and Juice were great but i dont know how much effort it took to make bland tasteless chewy and sour foods but they excel at it here.
Having said that we grabbed a coffee and cake at the Snacks bar the night before and it was excellent. Might need to swap the chefs around.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JaneilC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thankyou for your comments and it is great to hear you enjoyed the fantastic views and comfortable rooms. Our chefs work hard to deliver a great breakfast experience so i was dissapointed to read your comments about the buffet, rest assured these have been passed on to the team as we are always looking at ways to improve the offerings.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    361
    178
    56
    26
See reviews for
130
405
40
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I first stayed at the Wrest Point hotel and casino in 2005 and now again 9 years later and nothing had changed . If you want a no Hassel Stay where and ste use to having average service then you would be hapoy

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thankyou for your honest review of our premises, I am glad you continue to enjoy our property after 9 years - we appreciate your loyalty very much. Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed for a night in Sept and another in October.

I was fortunate to be upgraded to a tower room for the first stay. Comfortable, clean and quiet room, no issues with the wifi. Ate in the Pier One restaurant, can't say I enjoyed by chicken meal. Buffet breakfast about $22 for the continental and I think $29 for added cooked buffet. Food was fine.

Stayed in a Water's Edge room in October..rooms have refurbished, still look a little dowdy. Cleanliness an issue...dust that can easily be seen on the cabinet doors...desk not wiped down and had stains. But the bed comfortable and clean. Wifi very patchy, it was mostly slow and then would keep dropping out.

Tower stay would be 4stars, while the Water's Edge stay would be more a 3 or 3.5stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thanks for sharing your views about both our Tower and Water Edge accomodation rooms, it is very insightful. Our IT division is looking into the Free Wi-Fi currently as speed is obviously crutial in this day and age so we will make sure this is rectified. Cleanliness is also critical and your comments have been passed to our Housekeeping team for follow up. Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We booked this on the web and didn't realize until we checked in that we were over to the Mountain Side. We walked in and no lift just stairs. The room was dark and had a musty odor. The tv looked like it was from the 80's. Decor very dated and room quite small. I had never stayed in this part before and I was staying there this time either. I walked back over to reception and politely asked as to the cost of an upgrade and explained why. I was pleasantly surprised when I was told to pack up my things as we had been upgraded for free. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant. I was able to book in for a massage as soon as we arrived and that was heavenly. Would definitely stay again but never on the Mountain Side.

Room Tip: Don't go to the Mountain Side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigvmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
The Mountainside rooms you checked into first are currently undergoing some enhancements with new 40 inch flat screen TV's, new beds and doonas just to name a few so they will be quite different by the middle of November. I am glad however that we were able to upgrade you to one of our spectacular Tower rooms and that you enjoyed the massage at Soulful Infusions. Thanks for sharing your comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

When we booked this hotel we specifically requested a room with a bath tub as we only have a shower at home. Upon check in, we were advised there weren't any rooms with a bath tub left available.

The room we got was dirty, hairs in the sink, the shower was tiny and the silicon mouldy. The surfaces were dusty and the glasses provided in the minibar were dirty.

Housekeeping came to rectify the hair issue and we were given a complimentary bottle of wine due to not getting the room we booked.

We ate dinner at Pier One, my husband was happy with his steak, however the crispy skin salmon I ordered was soggy and lacked seasoning. The mesclun leaves on my plate were oxidised on the ends, brown and limp, so I sent my meal back. We were still charged full price for this appalling meal.

We had booked and paid for a late 2pm checkout, yet we received a call at 11am asking when we would checkout.

All in all, a very disappointing experience, we'll stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelguestAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thankyou for letting us know about your varying experiences at Wrest Point. I was dissapointed to hear of the issues with the room and must apologies, your feedback has been taken seriously and passed on to our Housekeeping and Front Office teams as has your comments in relation to the food in Pier One. Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband decided to surprise me with a night's accommodation at the Wrest Point Tower with harbour views- it was so lovely and thoughtful and we set off to have a really enjoyable evening and a lovely night's accommodation....well check in was very quick and business like and we went to our room.
The carpets are a darkish khaki green, as are the walls and the trim- varying colours but still a rather drab look...and add to this the curtains which are very floral and velvet...which matched with the dotty and striped furniture all in matching tones...on a drab grey day...was how we both felt..back in a time warp and feeling rather downcast. The view from the window was very nice..be it grey..but that is not the hotel's fault.
Oh well off to have a nice cup of coffee...don't go to "the Coffee Shop" as it was not open at 4pm..we were waved laconically through the awful banks and banks of one armed bandits with a range of people focussed on their screens and we found what could only be described as a mediocre coffee place...coffee not good..atmosphere not good and all in all so very average.
Good thing we were going to a great local Chinese restaurant for dinner as that was the absolute highlight.
So thanks but no thanks- Wrest Point needs to have a massive spruce up and move out of the time warp it seems to be stuck in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tas-wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to share your views on Trip Advisor. Wrest Point is constantly updating our rooms so your feedback is great information to enable us to incorporate your comments into future works. We also spend much time and effort to train our Barista's so I was disapointed we let you down on this front, we will certainly work hard to keep up the focus on delivering high quality food and beverages. Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

For a special occasion we decided to treat ourselves to a night in a suite in the tower at Wrest Point. We had booked a Mountain View suite but when we arrived we had been up-graded to a River View suite on level 15. This turned out to be magnificent, beautiful views from the Tasman Bridge, way down the Derwent, and the suite was really big with loads of room and huge windows. We could not fault the accommodation, just great.
A couple of things let the occasion down a little. We arrived after 2 pm and had to wait until after 4 pm for our room to be made ready! The staff gave us a complimentary bottle of Tasmanian wine because of the wait. We did have a late check-out at 11 am.
We had a buffet dinner & breakfast in the Coffee Shop in the casino.
Living in Southern Tasmania we have eaten here many times over the years, but not recently. The dinner, in our opinion, was not up to the standard as in the past, the choice, variety and quality of the food has gone down and the price up. Breakfast was fine with a reasonable choice of food available.
All in all a good night's stay

Room Tip: If you can afford to, get a River View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassiedevils1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments about your stay in one of our suites, they are certainly a great way to spend a special night. I was disspointed to read of the delay in check-in and your thoughts about the buffet however we are always looking to constantly improve so it is valuable information for us to know thankyou. Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.1 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Property: Wrest Point
Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. Other key features include: - Free Wi-Fi in all accommodation rooms - Free FOXTEL channels - Individually controlled air-conditioning and heating in all rooms - All non-smoking rooms - Solid constructed rooms for quiet night sleep - Free car parking and valet car parking service available - Saturday shuttle bus service available to Salamanca Market ($5pp return) - Free access to health club with indoor pool, gymnasium, sauna and spa - Free access to onsite tennis court and mini-golf - Comprehensive 24-hour onsite security monitoring and staff - 24-hour Reception and Guest Services Desk - Water ferry services accessible from the hotel pier - Casino entertainment - Live international and national entertainment acts Enjoy the comfort, space and wide-ranging facilities of one of Hobart's premier hotels, a range of entertainment offerings and located close to Salamanca and CBD precincts. Wrest Point is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing