We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired, outdated and in desperate need of a refurb”
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wrest Point
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I've had a recent 3 night stay at Wrest Point casino. I foolishly did not check reviews on trip advisor prior to booking because I was visiting Hobart for a conference, and Wrest Point was the conference venue. I stayed in a Tower Harbor view room.

In an attempt to be balanced, positives of this hotel are:
* The staff at the front desk are friendly, prompt and competent
* The view from my hotel room was spectacular, overlooking the harbor.
* It is sufficiently clean, although there are markings on the furniture and the dark bed spread doesn't inspire confidence that it has been regularly laundered.


Negatives:
* Unless you are into gambling, this hotel is in the wrong part of town! Its a cab ride or 30 - 40 minute walk into the heart of Hobart. If you are not visiting for a specific event in this part of town, you'd be better off staying around the Hobart CBD, where Salamanca, Battery Point and other Hobart treats are a stones throw away.
* This rooms feel OLD OLD OLD! My initial impression upon walking into my room is "Someone's made a mistake! I've requested one of the more expensive accommodation options, and surely this is one of the cheaper rooms". Unfortunately, I was wrong. Picture the decor of a old motel along a country highway. Yellow walls. Pebble mix ceiling. Dark coloured bed spread. The furniture (e.g., tv cabinet, table) are dated, with markings / scratches across the surfaces. The TV is probably a 48cm, and is an old 'box-style' model. There's no DVD player - the hotel information book states that they are available for hire, but I refused to give them more of my money.
* Whilst the bathrooms appear less dated than the rest of the room, be prepared to have to wait by the toilet to flush repeatedly. The shower, water pressure and stable water temperature were positives.
* I dared not enquire about WiFi options, but I did notice a wired internet port in my room.

In summary, it wasn't a cheap hotel, views were great, location is not ideal for the typical Hobart tourist, and the rooms are extremely dated, albeit sufficiently clean. I won't be coming back unless there is a refurb.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CZAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor-It’s great this avenue is available for quick and constructive comments so that we can enable changes to suit our customers’ needs quickly. Many of the rooms in the Tower are currently undergoing refurbishments and appliances (flat screen TVs) are being updated progressively floor by floor. We apologise your room had not been covered by the date of your stay. We are also in the process of replacing the bedspreads with a crisp ‘triple sheet’ configuration and introducing complimentary Wi-Fi. Your positive comments on the views reflect our pride in the location of Wrest Point and its ‘mid point’position to the centre of Hobart on one direction and, in the other, its proximity to Long Beach, Sandy Bay (a great place for holiday makers to visit). This direction is also a gateway to the scenic drives along the Channel Highway into Kingston and on to Huonville etc. It was also great to hear you enjoyed the service from the Front Office team. We hope to see you again when next in Hobart. Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager, Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed at Wrest Point because we were seeing a show there. Rooms need updating, holes in carpet were bed was, doors on cupboards needed lifting to close. We had tried to book for a meal before the show, but were all booked out, when asked if we could book for after the show we were told no. So we ended up eating in The River view snacks, my partner ordered the seafood basket. When we received it the only thing you could eat on the plate was the 1 calamari ring and the chips were just edible, the 1 prawn cutlet, the 1 battered scallop and the 1 piece of fish were all raw! The most disappointing thing is that none of it was fresh, it was all ready made frozen seafood. No skill required to cook or prepare just take out of the freezer and put in deep fryer. Wont be staying there again or recommending to anyone.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Meldiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your review of Wrest Point. I was disappointed your needs were not met on this occasion. For future reference-we have meal offers linked to many of the shows on our TixTas website so your meal before the show can be booked simultaneously. If you’re phoning in for your show tickets, meal reservations are taken at our service centre so it is very easy to make a meal reservation whilst speaking to our friendly staff. Our rooms are currently being updated and our maintenance department work hard to keep up with the constant wear and tear – we realise however you have been let down this time and I sincerely apologise for this.
Please be reassured your comments regarding the food in Riverview Snacks are taken very seriosly and we will take your comments in mind for future menu revisions.
Once again, thank you for passing on your comments.
Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager, Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at the Wrest Point Hotel this week. The location was beautiful. 5 minutes from the CBD. Easy parking and good room service. Many restaurant options in the Hotel. The room space was good. If you like gambling, there are many things for you to do. I would recommend staying at a waterfront view room, in a high floor. Great sunrise.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurorisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and passing on such positive comments. We also appreciate our location and feel lucky to work in this environment...so it’s great to share it with our visitors. We’re glad you enjoyed our Casino facilities, with Tables Games, Electronic Gaming Machines, Keno and the Tote there is certainly lots to choose from.
Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager, Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

the views from our room in the tower were lovely.
The rooms were very dated and many things in our room were broken and not in a working manner.
The location was great only a $9 taxi ride to salamanca. The concierge was extremely helpful.
If youre going to spend a decent amount I'd reccommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillM508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for entering your feedback on the Trip Advisor website-it’s great this avenue is available for our customers to easily give reviews so we can ensure our establishment continues to live up to expectations. The views of the Derwent River and Hobart environs from the Tower rooms are indeed impressive-something we take great pride in! We are currently updating our rooms, replacing the bedspread with crisp clean sheets and bed runners, flat screen TV’s and introducing complimentary Wi-Fi which will certainly improve the rooms for any future stays. Our maintenance department is also constantly working to keep the fittings in working order and we certainly appreciate you letting us know of this as well as all of your other comments.
Once again thanks for taking the time to share your views. Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager, Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed in the "Tower". May have paid a bit more for this - not too sure, but would recommend that you request a Tower room, as the views are just the best.

The room may have been a "bit" dated in terms of decor, but it was clean, the furniture was all in good condition, and everything worked - so no issues there.

We found the staff to be excellent, with check in/check out a breeze.

Something to be aware of is it is a little out of town (20-25 min walk - did it once), but there is a taxi rank right outside of the hotel. ($10.00 AUD - into town, so hardly a budget breaker) The plus side of this is that surrounding area is very quite at night.

All in all, we were very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor Tower room - for great views of Hobart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Old and run down. Rooms tiny, shocking colour schemes and in need of a drastic facelift. The place was like a morgue. No life or vitality whatsoever. What a waste of money. Bars were empty and casino also empty.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The building may be dated (haven't seen a tv that small in years!) but the facilities, waterfront location and friendly staff made it a great place to stay. Other bonuses included: free car parking, indoor pool, tennis court and mini golf. We got a great deal through wotif - which made it very good value - wouldn't have paid full price for it.

Room Tip: tower rooms on water front have fantastic views, adjoining rooms available - just ask when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisydayze45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.5 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,353 reviews
1.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
726 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $116 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing