We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying in a c class hospital”
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wrest Point
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Old and run down. Rooms tiny, shocking colour schemes and in need of a drastic facelift. The place was like a morgue. No life or vitality whatsoever. What a waste of money. Bars were empty and casino also empty.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

942 - 948 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

The building may be dated (haven't seen a tv that small in years!) but the facilities, waterfront location and friendly staff made it a great place to stay. Other bonuses included: free car parking, indoor pool, tennis court and mini golf. We got a great deal through wotif - which made it very good value - wouldn't have paid full price for it.

Room Tip: tower rooms on water front have fantastic views, adjoining rooms available - just ask when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisydayze45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were lucky enough to have this hotel as a Wotif mystery deal, so it was well priced, we just didn't find out the name until it was booked, or the room style for that matter.
The room had a double and single bed, was tired, aged and outdated. It has a lovely view overlooking the water and the staff were beautiful. They were welcoming and friendly and always smiling.
Unfortunately the rooms and ensuite are old. There was a suspicious stain on the bedspread, the walls were orange with a white roof, with the exception of the bathroom which has a white tiles/walls with an orange roof. We had to close the bathroom door simply to get to the toilet (the bathroom was about 1mx 1m floorspace with the exception of bath/shower)
The shower over the bath was not pleasant- didn't look clean and we waited until we got to our next hotel to shower.
Money needs to be spent on this hotel, from the lifts to the rooms to the carpet. If they did that, it would a lovely place to stay.
Unfortunately as it stands I would not return, but of they refurbished I would return without hesitation.
Th corridors, lifts and carper also need attention.

I would like to finish by restating that the staff were absolutely lovely.

Room Tip: Spa and children activities were no applicable in this rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have stayed in many places in Hobart previously but was looking for a hotel with the wow factor and it had to be accessible for my dad who is wheelchair bound. Found a great rate for the Tower Suites and took the gamble...we have stayed at the Wrest Point previously but in their basic rooms - these I wouldnt recommend...tired, dated and basic which I'm sure is the trend of the majority of reviews for this hotel. However, if you can get a decent rate on the Tower Suites I would jump on it. There are many suite options in Hobart, but I'd doubt that many could compare with the space and views provided at Wrest Point. We had two rooms, I would agree that one of which was slightly more dated than the other (only in choice of furnishings), although both had large marble spa bathrooms, with an additional over-sized shower area. Kitchen was sufficient enough to prepare breakfast and the main living room was partitioned (if required) to the bedroom area. Two big screen TV's with Foxtel, if that floats your boat and wrap around views of the harbour/Mt Wellington.
Tennis Court, mini-golf looked in good shape, Pool needs extreme make-over but us usable. Normal spa and saunas included. The guys on Valet parking were excellent and couldnt have been more helpful, really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Tower Rooms!?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen_Booth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have stayed here twice on business. It's a cross between a hi-de-hi holiday camp and your mother-in-laws childhood bedroom. Peach walls and apricot bed linen anyone? Gaudy, dated with sulky staff and poor food and beverage choices, service and quality.

It does have a stunning view of the bay - but is a little way out of the city and I am sure there are much better alternatives. I stayed here because it's where my work functions were held - I'll avoid coming back.

Avoid

Room Tip: If you have to stay here... stay in the Tower, otherwise it's a long hike to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at Wrest Point in the tower for an event we had been invited to. The room was very comfortable with lovely views over the water, however it was in need of a refurbish and update - had a very 90's look about it. The TV was quite old and the remote didn't work and the timber work in the room was looking a bit worn and scratched. The food was very average and overpriced. If we hadn't been attending a function I would have chosen somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fraethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very modern,clean rooms with outstanding views.Many varied activities,sightseeing tours with many Cafes,Restaurants and trendy,classic bars providing excellent food,local wines and beers.

Looking forward to going back and enjoying a very pretty place full of very friendly and
helpful people.

Room Tip: Must get a room with a great water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 47 in Hobart
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.4 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
793 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $117 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing