We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite dissapointed”
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wrest Point
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite dissapointed”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here in april 2012 for 1 night and were quite dissapointed. The only good thing about the hotel were the staff. The gentleman working at the front desk that checked us in and then out the next day was very friendly and helpful.
The room we had was ok but for the price we payed we were expecting a little more (obviously staying in a 4 star room the expectations are already there before you walk in the door).
The room at first glance when walking in was dated (luckily they have the view to distract you). The beds in general were very comfy with clean sheets. The tv was an old analog square tv that was in the cupboard (there was no flatscreen). The mini bar they had in the room was supposed to include 2 packets of pringles, which were both there, but upon closer look one packet had been opened and then sat back there again. In the bedside table top drawer there were used tissues and a packet of gastro stop. The picture frame in the room was covered in 2inch thick dust, which hadnt been dusted. I dont think much dusting had been done in the room as there were sticky marks on the dining table. The shower in the bathroom hadnt been cleaned all that well either, as on the metal strip down the bottom there was still soap residue. It looked like all the cleaners had done in the room was made the bed, put fresh towels in the room and vaccumed.
Being a housekeeper myself in a 4 star boutique hotel in Launceston i knew what i was looking for and was actually quite appauled at the way this housekeeper had left the room to be presented to the guests. Perhaps some further training or room checking by management needs to be done.

Whilst we were there we decided to dine at the "coffee shop" for dinner for the buffet. That was a dissapointment also. For the $30 each price tag we payed i hate to say it but it definetly was not worth the price. The selection that was there for the buffett was very minimal (not sure if its like that every night or if we just happened to pick a bad night).
We werent there very long, we just ate what we could and left. We later on that night went down to the "riverview snack bar" and ordered 2 fishermans baskets for $9.90 each and took them back to our room and ate them (we should of had that for tea) as it was much nicer than the buffett.

All in all, i dont think i would come back again and would be sceptical to recommend the hotel to anyone else, based on there food and housekeeping services. Think we'll be staying elsewhere on our visit to Hobart next.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tassieresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    375
    181
    58
    31
See reviews for
134
428
43
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
504 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Wrest Point Hotel. The room was very nice. The service was great. (Note: There is free soda in the casino.) A city bus can pick you up at the bus stop by the hotel and take you to downtown Hobart. Hobart is a neat town. The great thing about our room was our being able to see one of the most spectacular sun rises we have ever seen. We had a room overlooking the water with some small boats moored away from the shore. When we got home, I printed an 8 x 10 photo of the sunrise, had it framed, and hung it in our bedroom. It is a beautiful scene.

Room Tip: Get a room where you can see the sunrise (if you are willing to get up early). We only had the spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed there for 5 days as I was attending a conference held in a Wrest Point Convention Centre. IMHO, the whole complex is the ugliest building in Hobart. Location is very inconvenient: you can walk to central Hobart, but it's over 30 min up and down the hills with many unregulated crossings; in theory there's a public bus, but we've never seen it or it's timetable. There's nothing else around, so if you want to eat or to buy something - your choice is limited to hotel (and it's price policy).
I stayed in a twin room in an annex - so called Mountainside view. It's just 20 m away from reception. I had to wait 40 min over the official check-in time; got in my room 5 min before a handy-man who came to fix a cabinet. The furniture was old, the room was spacious but dark. There was a door connecting my room with the next one (closed at all times) but I could hear everything in that other room.
Conference facilities were poor - one of the conference 'halls' was set up in a corridor!
Overall, this is an old and horribly-designed casino complex in it's worst, to me the atmosphere was depressing. Should acknowledge though - the staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anya_Ukr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed for two nights 31st March to the 2nd April 2012 on the 7th floor, with a view down the Derwent. Even though the room was dated from the 1970’s, it was clean and did not have a smell like some casino hotel rooms. I even walked around the room in bare feet. The view was to die for in our river side room and the bed was firm with no sags. The bathroom was more modern than the room, clean, well-supplied, good water pressure, and a nice longer than normal bath. To be very picky without being a winger, the telly was not a flat screen. Great value with the free valet parking (if it is still free). All of the staff were friendly and helpful in both the hotel and the casino

Room Tip: River side, middle floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed did two nights over Easter. I was apprehensive after reading other reviews. Yes, much of it is dated but the staff are helpful and the rooms comfortable. We had a room on the first floor of the tower with water views. The room was very clean and seemed to have Ben recently painted with new curtains and bed spreads. The bed was so comfortable we both slept in....the bathroom away clean although dated. Would happily a stay again .

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank favourites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Have started he a lot lovely place. Staff are extra friendly and efficient from the conceige right through to the room staff. Magnificient views from all rooms. The rooms are spacious,clean and have everything you require. I have my best night sleep here. Peaceful and the beds comfortable. So many resturants to choice from all of them excellent. The birdcage bar is fantastic not expensive but the ambience and the music great. All over love staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sorell, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We had the option on arrival to stay in a newly refurbished room or an old one. As I had stayed here before I chose to stay in the new look rooms. They have done a nice job, but it wouldn't be to everyone's liking.
View is great, bed is comfortable and the shower is possibly the best I've ever had with 2 different shower heads to choose from (or both)!!
Service lacks a little for a 5 star motel. Very slow and very uninterested staff make for a not very welcoming experience.
Don't bother with breakfast, it's extremely over priced for very poor quality. The hot food isn't hot, the selection is limited considering the size of the buffet, & it costs far far too much.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGTaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Hobart
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Property: Wrest Point
Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. Other key features include: - Free Wi-Fi in all accommodation rooms - Free FOXTEL channels - Individually controlled air-conditioning and heating in all rooms - All non-smoking rooms - Solid constructed rooms for quiet night sleep - Free car parking and valet car parking service available - Saturday shuttle bus service available to Salamanca Market ($5pp return) - Free access to health club with indoor pool, gymnasium, sauna and spa - Free access to onsite tennis court and mini-golf - Comprehensive 24-hour onsite security monitoring and staff - 24-hour Reception and Guest Services Desk - Water ferry services accessible from the hotel pier - Casino entertainment - Live international and national entertainment acts Enjoy the comfort, space and wide-ranging facilities of one of Hobart's premier hotels, a range of entertainment offerings and located close to Salamanca and CBD precincts. Wrest Point is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing