We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wrest Point
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The service was fantastic, we had a great concierge that was always helpful, professional and friendly. Our room overlooked the river and was very comfortable. We did have some problems with the heating system, but this was quickly fixed by a service man. One of the beds sheets did not seem properly cleaned though. The location was great for the views but not quite in the CBD, so if you didn't have a vehicle it would be a bit of a walk to get into the main area of Hobart. There are a range of dining experiences to choose from and we opted for the bistro, which served descent food for the price. I think the best thing would have been the concierge we had, as it made the stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDL20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    375
    181
    58
    31
See reviews for
134
428
43
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensborough
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Went with a friend and were upgraded to 5th floor overlooking the bay. Room - a bit average.
Bathroom needed an exhaust fan, as it got very humid and steamy after showering.
Concierges ( a young guy) wasnt very helpful in assisting us with Points of Interest and transport. He even asked another staff member and he wasn't interested in giving us assistance either. Found more help in the Visitor Info Centre in Hobart
ATM in foyer was useful.
A little bit out of the heart of the city. Taxi ride from Salamanca to hotel cost approx $A10. Next time I would opt to stay closer to the Salamanca area

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SabrinaSabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
243 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The casino is within and always lots on. Plenty of places to eat and good service. The rooms in the tower have been refurbished but they still look outdated. Free valet parking is a bonus and it is very handy if you have a conference at the location. Its about 5 kms from the hobart cbd. The local bus does call in for transport. Small gynm and pool. Lovely views on the river side.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aus_gregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Stayed one night for business. Great location and lovely views It took ages to wander the maze of poorly sign posted corridors to find our rooms. Don't book a River View room as while it was clean and tidy the bathroom was tiny and the decor was very, very dated. Staff were okay but not friendly nor helpful. Food average. I guess it helps if you like gambling.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelandwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed in an Executive room free internet, free parking also included by concierge.
The rooms are nice enough and nice views of Sandy Bay, overall I would recommend this hotel to people going down to Hobart, the staff are very friendly and that makes yr stay even more better.
This hotel is round, like the holiday in in darwin and townsville, and metro inn in brisbane, the person who designed must of sold one in each city!!

Room Tip: Ask for the view of Sandy BAy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

This is one of the few times that I am glad that I did not book based on the Tripadvisor reviews, because from my perspective, this was a great hotel and a great deal.

We took advantage of a 'Wotif' internet deal that was available for just one day: $134 for a night in a harbour-view room, with breakfast included for 2. For that price, in Hobart, over Easter, hopefully you understand why I ignored the negative comments here.

But the thing is, I can't complain about the hotel or the experience. The breakfast was a passable buffet, the staff were always helpful and friendly to me, we got complimentary valet parking, the room was spacious, clean and fairly new etc etc. So honestly, for the price and the experience, I must give them a full 5 points. I would definitely stay here again, as long as I don't have to pay the rack rate of about $200 per night.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriniAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country NSW
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in an Executive City Mountain View room & found the room to be a bit tired & dated. The iron in the room didn't work, but I found a cleaning lady & she was very helpful. Most of the staff didn't seem to be very happy, they were doing their jobs but it seemed like it was an effort for them (with the exception of the cleaning lady - she was great). I found the price to be very expensive for the level of service & the room provided.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liveforholidays-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Hobart
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Property: Wrest Point
Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. Other key features include: - Free Wi-Fi in all accommodation rooms - Free FOXTEL channels - Individually controlled air-conditioning and heating in all rooms - All non-smoking rooms - Solid constructed rooms for quiet night sleep - Free car parking and valet car parking service available - Saturday shuttle bus service available to Salamanca Market ($5pp return) - Free access to health club with indoor pool, gymnasium, sauna and spa - Free access to onsite tennis court and mini-golf - Comprehensive 24-hour onsite security monitoring and staff - 24-hour Reception and Guest Services Desk - Water ferry services accessible from the hotel pier - Casino entertainment - Live international and national entertainment acts Enjoy the comfort, space and wide-ranging facilities of one of Hobart's premier hotels, a range of entertainment offerings and located close to Salamanca and CBD precincts. Wrest Point is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing