We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hobart's Answer to Melbourne's Brunetti”

Daci and Daci Bakers
Ranked #5 of 604 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $11
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bakers Of bread, Viennoiserie, cakes, patisserie & provisions. Full breakfasts, morning and afternoon tea, & lunch are offered in a bustling environment with professional service. Takeaways available, and child friendly.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hobart's Answer to Melbourne's Brunetti”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

If you are after a Melbourne Brunetti experience in Hobart do not go past this place. While Brunetti has overdone in terms of lavish Italian fittings Daci and Daci has gone backwards and offers an intimate setting with small patio-style tables which can be moved by patrons to accommodate a large party. There is a deck for on-street sitting at the front. The bakery counter which also serves take-outs and espresso bar is just inside the door and dominates the room. We were there just for coffee and a little something sweet. Sweet offerings were plentiful making decisions difficult, and when we were there they have the biggest meringues I have ever seen - easily a 15cm size ones - rosewater flavoured with a sprinkling of crushed pistachios on top. Heavenly. Coffee was good although on the weak side - this could be due to the large cup it came in (the cup is definitely too big for a standard shot). Suggestion: Either ditch the large cups or offer strong espresso as a choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    912
    340
    66
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Delicious. Everything looked good, but unfortunately we were not there long enough for me to return. Enjoyed a pastry, broccoli frittata and cappuccino for breakfast. Elevated deck/patio is very nice for separation from sidewalk and traffic.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CFrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pattisserie Heaven”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great pattisserie and bakery. It is a gastronomic delight both visually and quality food. I enjoyed a quiche and lemon tart. Delish on both counts!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Victim of it's success”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

In Hobart for a conference and maybe this café was busier because of it.
We went for breakfast but had not left enough time to wait in the long queue and then to be served -so had to rush the food down.
I live in a bigger city and am used to quick ordering. The staff seemed in no hurry to shrink the ever growing queue.
The display is awesome and the food was delicious -but the atmosphere in the crowded seating area spoilt the experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BronwynMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Little bit of France in Hobart?”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have travelled through France for 3 weeks and coming from South Australia this is the closest I have been to that food experience in France.
Service was good, prompt and polite.
The food? well extraordinary realistic.
You can of course just go there and pick up a loaf of the amazing bread? We bought the 100% rye- sour dough. "A single slice will fill the stomach of a grown man!"
The coffee was also pretty good, I ordered a large flat white and it was one the best I had in Hobart.
Daci and Daci need to open a store in Adelaide!
Twice as big because the place would be mobbed.
When i'm back in Hobart I will come back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daci and Daci Bakers also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Daci and Daci Bakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing