We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb - worthy of its rating”

Daci and Daci Bakers
Ranked #5 of 604 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $11
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bakers Of bread, Viennoiserie, cakes, patisserie & provisions. Full breakfasts, morning and afternoon tea, & lunch are offered in a bustling environment with professional service. Takeaways available, and child friendly.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Superb - worthy of its rating”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

A bakery? No. 2 on Tripadvisor for Hobart?
I was skeptical.

But a quick breakfast at Daci and Davi proved me wrong - awesome coffee, wonderful fresh fruit and yoghurt and the most dazzling array of pastries on offer. This is definitely a place to stop in for a meal and I will be back here in a heartbeat next time I'm in Hobart.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aimoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    911
    339
    65
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great selection”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i came to hobart yesterday and decided to start our day out in hobart with coffee and pastry's. Spoilt for choice and unbelievably yummy! great coffee too. Will be coming back!!!

Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Gold plated coffee”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We called in for a coffee on a busy Saturday morning.
The place was bustling with only a couple of spare tables. There was live music underway in the corner.
We looked at the cake displays with amazement - they looked so good. Unfortunately we had not long finished breakfast so we opted for just a coffee this time.

The service was slow (presumably because it was so busy). The coffee was very nice, but here comes the only gripe. It was $5.80 for a cup! This was extortion! $2 more than comparable places around town.
We'd like to come back to try a cake or two but we might need to bring a thermos!!
Note: my rating is driven by the impressive looking cakes, not the coffee price!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassiegolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarlGrey2013, Owner at Daci and Daci Bakers, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Tassiegolly,
I am sorry to hear that you were charged $5.80 for your cup of coffee. This price is incorrect, our coffee pricing is as follows : Cup $3.80, Mug $4.30, add soy milk 0.50, add double shot 0.50, make it a mocha 0.50. The mug already has a double shot included in the price.
We would like to welcome you back to Daci & Daci Bakers for a complimentary coffee to make up for your dissatisfaction and welcome any email feedback on dacibakers@bigpond.com. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Daci & Daci Bakers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“French Patiserrie in Hobart”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

One of the best patisseries that I've found outside France! Really seriously good pastry, croissant and bread. We breakfasted here twice and enjoyed both a traditional and a continental breakfast and then went back for afternoon tea and some serious pastry indulgence. WOW! I love this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTLee2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hearty fruit loaf!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Excellent sweet and savoury choices for dining in or take away. We enjoyed the poppy seeded fruit loaf for several breakfasts thereafter (almost need a small crane to carry). Delicious and kept us going well into the day! You can also pick up a curried scallop pie from a cafe just around the corner (slightly soggy but still enjoyable).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oneiota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daci and Daci Bakers also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Daci and Daci Bakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing