We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOOKS BEAUTIFUL - TASTES FANTASTIC”

Daci and Daci Bakers
Ranked #5 of 604 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $11
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bakers Of bread, Viennoiserie, cakes, patisserie & provisions. Full breakfasts, morning and afternoon tea, & lunch are offered in a bustling environment with professional service. Takeaways available, and child friendly.
SYDNEY
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“LOOKS BEAUTIFUL - TASTES FANTASTIC”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We visited Daci & Daci 3 times over our long weekend and got something different each time, you have to join the line to order what you want, then its about a 10 min wait for food. The cakes are available immediately and are AMAZING, not only do they look wonderful they taste wonderful and there are so many that its impossible to try all that you want. We can totally recommend for a snack, a meal or just looking at all their wonderful cakes and pastries.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acutlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    912
    340
    66
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

What a find. We stumbled on this walking around Hobart. Had breakfast there twice and afternoon coffee once during our three day stay. The pastries and sandwiches were fantastic. Their cappuccino and lattes were superb.
Ok a lot of superlatives but this place is a real find. It could hold its own anywhere. Interesting to see that they use organic wheat from Tasmania ( the bags were stacked in a corner).
As far as seating - we were there in their winter but there was out and indoor seating. Like anywhere that is popular there is a certain table flow but we didn't't have to wait. I think it is because everyone orders from the counter prior to seating.
If in hobart a not to miss

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2quixotictravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Hard to get a table but worth it.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had a lunch here after arriving on an early flight and the place was packed and the take away area was doing a fantastic trade.
Most of the diners were office people and the food was fresh and very well priced. A good place to go.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good quality food, you must stop by here!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by after the Salamanca Markets. Was very busy but we managed to get a table. Food was obviously made of very good quality ingredients. The pie was amazing! Saturday had some French style live music. This place has been open in Hobart for a very long time and I can see whyvitscstill here today. It's a just visit when your in hobart.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Possibly the pastry kings of Tasmania”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

After a long bout of shopping for heaters we were ravenous and looking for a sustaining snack. We had heard about Daci and Daci and we werent disappointed.I left the ordering to my better half while i found parking. When i arrived she had paid and we sat down chatting while waiting for our meals. The coffee arrived first and was hotter than most served in Tassie. The quality is good without being great but the attitude and friendkiness of the staff more than makes up for any possible short comings. Harry the baristier is obviously an expert and he brings every cup out which is why it is hot when it arrives at the table.[does not stand around waiting for another pair of hands to bring it over.]Our waitress was efficient and smiley but seemed a little nervous. She neednt feel that way as she is very good and brought us cold water and cutlery too.. When she brought us our food she asked politely as to who was having what and had a charming attitude. My surprise was the lamb pie which was served with a good sized salad of fresh leafs. The salad was dressed with an olive oil and vinegar dressing and complemented the pie excellently. My wife had orderede the Morroccan sausage roll and both meals were excellent. The mixture filling the sausage roll was very tasty and seemed authentic. My lamb pie was filled with real meat and a smattering of veggies but was succulent and substantial; as was the roll. Both of these had a pastry which wqas world class and neither had been microwaved ! We cant wait to try their breakfasts.At $8 these meals are comparitively very good value for Hobart.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnbooth60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daci and Daci Bakers also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Daci and Daci Bakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing