We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well balanced”

Chillies Indian Restaurant
Ranked #136 of 595 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $16 - $26
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chillies Indian Restaurant offers authentic traditional Indian cuisine. The menu includes many popular favorites, plus several innovative dishes of our own, and all at reasonable prices. You will be served by our friendly staff in a warm ambiance with a buzz of its own. A great place for either an intimate meal, or to meet a small group of friends. For those long summer evenings, al fresco dining is also available.
Central Coast, NSW
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well balanced”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

My go to Indian dish is always the butter chicken. Chillies' was a tasty balance between tomato and cream. Perhaps a little more of a tomato flavours than others I've tried. The naan was lovely and light, not too dense. Definitely enjoyed the meal. The atmosphere was pleasant and the service decent. Would eat at Chillies again but at the same time I would consider trying the other Indian restaurants in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dream2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    39
    15
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go on a Friday”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

For some reason the cooking is better on a Friday, don't know why. We are regulars and I always ask for extra chilli in the Chicken Madras. Fantastic service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tasman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Indian food I have ever eaten ”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

The service was not that bad as I read in review. Well lets talk about food. Lamb cutlets nothing special but were ok. Fish tikka was the worst I have ever eaten. Overcooked and dry fish. No flavours whatsoever at all. Than the mains arrived. Chefs special goat curry
What a joke. We had to ask for salt. There were no wow factors to curry at all. It may be awesome food for Aussie pallatte but Indians are not gonna enjoy it as they know the flavours.

Helpful?
1 Thank Manpreet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Had a lovely family meal”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal at Chillies. Something for everyone. The restaurant has a nice feel about it and the staff were really friendly and attentive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clare832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Went as it is in the entertainment book, but really worth the visit, yummy food, great service, thoroughly enjoyed it

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veramit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chillies Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Chillies Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing