We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wilderness Adventure Cruise”

Hobart Yachts -Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$322.83*
and up
Full-Day Sailing Cruise from Hobart
More Info
$112.99*
and up
Half-Day Sailing on the Derwent River from Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come sailing aboard the 62 foot luxury Sydney to Hobart Maxi, Helsal IV. Experience what it is like to sail one of these magnificent crafts; even take the wheel if you like! Come for just a few hours on the Derwent or plunge right into the adventure and sail away with us on a yacht charter to places unimagined. Whether you choose to play on the Derwent, escape to the wilderness, or something in between, you'll never look to the sea in quite the same way again.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wilderness Adventure Cruise”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Relaxing in timeless Port Davey with Mark, Marcia and Luke was a worldclass experience not to be missed. Cruising calm, sunny waters of untouched beauty in superyacht style and comfort with an expert guide. Attentive crew combining safe sailing with friendly fun and fabulous food. Chance of a lifetime - grab it if you can.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at Hobart Yachts -Day Tours, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thanks Bob. We had the best time at Port Davey and your great sense of fun made it all the more enjoyable. We wish you could have stayed with us longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
“An Absolute Must - Thank you!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Mark, Marcia and Luke - What a fantastic life experience you have to offer.

My 3 sons and I were fortunate enough (thanks to my Mum Elizabeth) to sail and spend the afternoon on Helsal IV (past competitor in the Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race).

The friendly and supportive atmosphere was second to none and provided the base for what is a unique and treasured experience sailing from the Marina to the mouth of the Derwent River overlooking the Great Southern Ocean.

My Sons still talk about it, and I just want to express my thanks and appreciation for your hospitality and sharing your dream for the rest of us to experience.

I can't recommend more highly this opportunity if anyone is considering a unique and memorable experience.

Thank you once again, when I return to Tasmania you'll be sure to see lining up.

I wish you both and the success and good fortune you deserve.

Thanks
Chris Kelhear

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeeKay00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at Hobart Yachts -Day Tours, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks for the great review mate. You and your lovely family were an absolute pleasure to take sailing and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are down under down under, even if just for a chat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

THANX Mark and Luke!! Had the BEST DAY of our lives ever. And now even more convinced that sailing is something we need to take up, if not just for the pleasure of being on the ocean working with such beautiful beasts these boats are! Already spreading the word and will continue upon our return to the UK :D Simply Amazing. Thanks guys! x Jenny and Simon

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at Hobart Yachts -Day Tours, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for the very kind review and thanks for spreading the word. It's great to have such lovely enthusiastic advocates roaming the globe. I have a video clip from your trip coming up on Facebook soon : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Must Do Hobart Experience!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

A fabulous day out on the Helsal IV, thankyou ever so much Mark, Marcia & Luke! Very welcoming atmosphere, was like going out sailing with friends for the day. Beautiful boat/hospitality/food/day on the water. Husband & I booked to go when the Sydney to Hobart yachts were sailing in & roped in the parents ... everyone has not stopped raving about it since we got off. My mother booked an afternoon trip for when my brother and nephews came to visit and they all loved it too. We will definitely go out again when next down to Tasmania with friends. So relaxing yet invigorating at the same time. Marcia was an especially fabulous host, keeping us warm with blankets and jackets (it can get rather chilled so definitely pack a jumper or three!), and all over it was just great to see a couple that are so passionate about their business. The skipper, Luke was great at explaining everything so that by the end the men on board felt like they were sailors! Thanks guys for such a great day that we'll always remember! ps in case you are wondering, there is also a cash bar for alcohol should you want a beer or champagne with lunch!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGalQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at Hobart Yachts -Day Tours, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! We had a really good time too sailing with such a vibrant bunch; budding sailors all. There is a lovely shot of your nephews on our Facebook page : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
“Beyond Beautiful - An Absolute Must-Do”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

It is hard to think of any holiday activity which is able to keep up with a full day cruise on board this wonderful yacht skippered by Mark and Luke. It is not only the experience of sailing in one of the world's most beautiful maritime environments, but also the perfect organization, the extremely friendly and welcoming atmosphere, the excellent tasmanian food, and first-hand information on the region that make this trip a truly unforgettable experience. Thanks Mark, thanks Luke, that was absolutely amazing!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at Hobart Yachts -Day Tours, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thanks Alex. I'm just sorry we couldn't catch you a fish for supper : ) Hope to see you back in Tasmania again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobart Yachts -Day Tours also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Hobart Yachts -Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing