We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Metz

The Metz
Ranked #162 of 591 Restaurants in Hobart
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Where Food - Wine & Friends come together " The Metz is Sandy Bay's most iconic dining and entertainment venue. The kitchen serves and extensive menu to suit all tastes, from pizza, pasta and salad to tapas dishes and desserts. The Metz is famous with locals for its Sunday Summer Sessions, which involve special food and beverages menus and a laidback soundtrack to farewell the week." (Best Restaurants of AustraliaTM)
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 10 adults and 4 children. The food was quick to arrive, serving sizes were great and food was delicious.
Everyone in the group enjoyed their meals. I had salmon and my husband had steak which were perfectly cooked.
The chocolate brownie was recommended for dessert and did not disappoint.
We would definitely go back again next time we are in Hobart

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank langer5s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    38
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“To dear for lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Not bad but to expensive for what we got, don't think I would go back as I have got better for less.
Service fine and outdoor area nice

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyles78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Had a reasonable lunch which was a bit pricey I thought, I had the salmon and rice. The place was nice enough but don't think I will go back have had much better elsewhere for less.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RORY99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, nice breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lovely staff, nice breakfast. Good choice of food, good coffee. Nice outdoor seating. Kids were well looked after by the staff

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Had Saturday lunch with the family at The Metz. Both the food and the service was nothing special and the waitress twice forgot an order. We also weren't asked if we'd like to see the dessert menu or for coffees.

Main meals for 6 and a bottle of wine came to just over $200.

Many other better places in Hobart - try Salamanca for better food and a better vibe.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank burgs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Metz also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to The Metz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing