We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picnic by seaplane”

Tasmanian Air Adventures Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tasmanian Air Adventures (TAA) provides top quality eco-tour experiences to Tasmania's wilderness icons direct from the Hobart waterfront. Enjoy access to the southwest wilderness, Wineglass Bay, Port Arthur, Cradle Mountain and the Gordon River. TAA offers the convenience of seaplane transfers to MONA and a number of wilderness hotels as well as the ultimate flexibility to discover Tasmania as you design your own flight as part of its charter program.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

As my family was visiting me in Hobart all the way from London, I wanted to show them something really special about Tasmania. What better than to fly all of us by seaplane to a picnic on a secluded beach on South Bruny Island. The flight there was just awesome and we also managed to stopover at the Huon Jet Boat ride for a quick spin - exhilarating! My family were just blown away by the beauty of the scenery we flew over and couldn't believe that we effectively had a private pristine beach to picnic on. Loved the people at TAA, they were extemely professional and looked after us brilliantly, even my 1yr old relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed the experince. This was a trip that none of us will ever forget!

Thank LisaMN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasAirAdventures, Front Office Manager at Tasmanian Air Adventures Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review of TAA - We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your special trip with us. Hope to see you next time for another Seaplane adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 170 of 179 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Without doubt the most fun you’re going to have with your pants on in Hobart. Expert highly experienced former military pilots, wonderfully informative and all done with a very high attention to detail and safety. Just a marvellous experience! Thank you.

Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasAirAdventures, Front Office Manager at Tasmanian Air Adventures Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your great review. It was our pleasure show you Hobart by Seaplane. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

From the moment the radial engine of the Dehavilland Beaver burst into life I had a smile on my face! To see the city and surrounds of Hobart from the air and water was a great experience.
From the friendly support staff to the charismatic pilot, this is a must do adventure whilst in Hobart.

Thank Ross Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasAirAdventures, Front Office Manager at Tasmanian Air Adventures Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback. From all the staff at TAA we are all thrilled you enjoyed your flight with us. Hope to see you again so we can showcase the rest of beautiful Tasmania with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Flew with Tasmanian Air Adventures to Mona. Very exciting taking off from the Derwent River in the heart of Hobart! Fantastic birthday celebration.with family. Wonderful flying on way to Mona. Our pilot Jethro flew us over points of interest. Buggy picked us up from the seaplane and toted us up to the wine bar at Mona, where we had a delicious meal, before entering the totally amazing Mona. We took the ferry back to Hobart. Loved every minute of the day. The convenience was amazing, with the seaplane being smack in the centre of Hobart. Totally recommend a trip in Tasmanian Air Adventures' "flying boat". Truly a romantic adventure!

Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasAirAdventures, Front Office Manager at Tasmanian Air Adventures Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to showcase you Tasmania by Seaplane and delighted you enjoyed your MONA experience. Until next we fly, regards from the TAA Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Flew with pilot Jethro to Port Arthur. It was fabulous flying over the beautiful Derwent river and islands along the route. We saw rays, as well as a pair of whales in the water below. The soaring Jurassic dolerite cliffs of Storm Bay were the highlight of the flight for me. Tallest sea cliffs in the Southern Hemisphere. Simply stunning! Professional, friendly staff at TAA made the whole experience special. Thank you guys, and thank you especially Jethro. Felt totally safe and comfortable in your capable hands. Loved the take-offs and landings on water. What's not to like? ... the airstrip (the Southern Ocean) extends all the way to Antarctica.

1  Thank Massima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasAirAdventures, Front Office Manager at Tasmanian Air Adventures Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to showcase you Tasmania by Seaplane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasmanian Air Adventures Day Tours also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing