We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good coffee”
Review of Doctor Coffee

Doctor Coffee
Ranked #23 of 35 Coffee & Tea in Hobart
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good coffee”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

On our last day in Hobart, I discovered this place, it was wet, windy and cold so was pleased to find somewhere that sold really good coffee, it was the best one I found in that town, would definitely revisit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank judy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    39
    17
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
609 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
“Warm coffee and poor in house service.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place was recommended by a relative who had lived in Hobart. Went there on three occasions (kept hoping it would get better but it didn't) the first on a Saturday for breakfast. Admittedly the markets were on and it was a bit wet and windy but there was still a fair bit of seating inside. We both had the Granola ( which came with a smidgeon of milk in a container on the side) which was Ok but none of the staff could tell us whether it contained wheat/flour. No freshly squeezed orange juice (only in plastic bottles) and the coffee was warm. Service was pretty poor even though they had 3 people on and it is not a large place. Went again later that day to escape the wind and rain. Coffee again warm even though we had requested it to be hot.

Third occasion was on a Monday for breakfast and only went here after two other places were closed. Service was OK as it was nearly empty. No orange juice at all - had run out. Warm coffee yet again but the saving grace was the breakfast Panini - very tasty.

I think there are other better options around town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“yum yum yum”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

on our recent trip to Hobart I discovered Doctor Coffee. It was only a very short walk from our hotel, so each morning I wandered down to get 2 delicious lattes. There was always a queue which meant a short wait, but this was worth it. Wonderful coffee. Sweet muffins equally delicious. An excellent find in Hobart!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rorycat48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzroy
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Perfectly made”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I'm a Melbourne coffee snob so delighted to fins somewhere that does really good coffee. About 20% more expensive than Melbourne but i was on holiday. Nice simple food offerings for breakfast and lunch

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coffee was good”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

But a number of things on the menu were not available and it was only 10.00am on a Saturday.... Would not go back again

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank happyflower62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doctor Coffee also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Doctor Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing