We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Solicit - CLOSED

Solicit
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We dined early as we booked late arvo the same day. So we got to see the place fill up by the end of our meal...
Staff were awesome, atmosphere perfect. Music at the correct, non obtrusive volume (my latest bugbear). Food and wine were gorgeous. Was expensive but not overly considering the quality of what was on offer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    19
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hard to find better”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I are very frequent visitor to this restaurant. Why, because it really is a first class restaurant, a real gem in terms of food, wine and service provided by husband and wife team of John and Joan. I have been fortunate to have eaten in some of the best restaurants in Sydney, Melbourne Adelaide, in Japan, New Zealand, UK, Italy, and France (e.g. Lyon, Paris, Strasbourg and Nice), and Solicit shines amongst them all. That’s also the opinion of my international guests from the same countries. The food menu is not extensive, but you will find something to suit all palates, superbly prepared by Chef John and his team. Can’t make up your mind for entrée, then go for John’s “5 Tastes From the Kitchen” which never fails to impress. It is always different and shows John eclectic approach to style and willingness to experiment with flavours. John sources only the best quality food, and only the best leaves his kitchen for the table. The wine menu is also impressive, and nicely complements the food, but if you can’t decide then Joan will find the right match. The desserts are brilliant, and if you like cheese as much as I do, you will be pleased with the selection of local, interstate and when available, French cheeses. Just make sure you put your cheese order in early enough so John has a chance to bring it to room temperature for maximum flavour. As for service, Joan as FoH is undoubtedly one of the best in the business I seen anywhere. The front of the restaurant hums along like a well tuned orchestra under her direction.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Still the Best”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Recently visited Solicit afer a few months. The service and food were again first class. The best restrauant in Hobart.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Left Dissapointed”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Loved the look of the menu and was really looking forward to dinner here based on other Trip adviser reviews. Started off well with 2 really nice entrees (Rabbit Pot Pie & the Wild Mushrooms). For mains ordered the beef and a Pork Wellington. Pork Wellington was ok, but it is served with a cold Sauce and cold vegetables which was just strange. The beef was lovely but unfortunatley in the mash potato found a sharp piece of plastic (like a Fork prong) so barely touched that. While the staff thanked us for letting them know and appreciated the feedback, they didn't seem concerned that my wife couldn't eat or enjoy her entire meal. When we said we weren't having dessert the bill was on our table within seconds and 2 Diet Cokes knocked off the price. A nice gesture but when your looking for a special evening to celebrate a 10 yr anniversary, we left dissapointed. On the plus side there is a beautiful little chocolate shop next door for desserts!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natdavebem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply the best...simple and unique”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The menu is not too long. The ingredients were obtained that day. The dishes feature Tasmanian ingredients and also native flora. The service is excellent, allowing you to savour the dishes in a mellow and warm atmosphere. The surroundings are interesting, but do not distract you from the amazing food. The prices are reasonable for the distinctive and delicious food you will receive. The owners are passionate and also are very supportive of the community, by allowing students to try their hand, and then selecting the best of these to be apprentices in the kitchen.

Highly recommend. We have been here a number of times.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solicit also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing