We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Meals as good as Lounge meals”
Review of Ocean Child Inn

Ocean Child Inn
Ranked #160 of 597 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: one of the hidden gems of hobart, a great pub. definately deserves a spot on Trip Advisor.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bar Meals as good as Lounge meals”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We didnt have a booking, and the Lounge was booked out, so we went into the bar. The service was quicker, and the meal (Ihad a schnitzel with calamari and white wine sauce for $15) was absolutely fabulous !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2oldhobartians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    38
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Surprising”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Becoming my favourite quick stop in Hobart. Pub atmosphere, restaurant standard meals and pull apart fresh bread that is almost worth the visit alone. Only criticism - meals are way too big and hard to finish. Give it a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ammolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“New Owners have a lot to learn”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

As regular diners here the food quality is now only average and the service has dropped significantly. We are considering looking elsewhere to dine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank annerob10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Two of us dined on a busy Saturday night and everything was faultless.

Great menu, excellent specials board, friendly and helpful staff and most importantly stunning food. I can highly recommend the Chicken & Reef. The lovely atmosphere topped off a great night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a_recent_visitor_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Booked the back bar for birthday bash!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had about 20 people come over from interstate for my husband's birthday. We decided on the Ocean Child because the food is always generous in size and pretty yummy.

They didn't disappoint. It was a good night with our own private bar area. The staff even brought down a TV so we could run a photo gallery at the same time.

Always have something nice to say about this pub.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenflipcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Child Inn also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Ocean Child Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing