We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed”
Review of Ocean Child Inn

Ocean Child Inn
Ranked #160 of 597 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: one of the hidden gems of hobart, a great pub. definately deserves a spot on Trip Advisor.
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very glad I chose this place after good trip advisor comments. Went to bar first up for drinks, which was told by a very nice gentleman to take a seat and he would deliver our drinks to our table, 10/10 first up in our eyes. The meals were spot on and took hardly any time to come out. The portion size was very generous and my pork loin chops cooked to perfection. Our friends had the battered fish, which they commented on how nice and light the batter was. All in all great friendly attentive staff, great food and great atmosphere, so do yourself a favour and add the ocean child to your must visit list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    38
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Good friendly service, very helpful staff. Food was good in quantity and fair to good for pub style food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miabree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and much fun”
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

On tripadvisors recommendation my hubby and I went here. We had a great experience. Big tasty portions. Great steak. Yum diddly umbtious dessert. We nearly wept at how good the Guinness was. Irish people craving a pint of the good stuff, go here. Bruce was an entertaining host and Carl was great for a chat and recommendations of where to go next. The highlight of course was the choir out front ;) a weekly event of a Wednesday. This is a honest to goodness spot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumbogenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing food every visit”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I think i may have reviewed the Ocean Child before but feel i need to review them again. Every single time i eat at the Ocean Child i am so impressed by the food, it is amazing! Good honest pub food piled up on your plate. Definitely value for money here. The best thing is they have a bigger menu than just your good old fashion pub food with things like amazing garlic prawns and seafood chowder. My last dining experience i ordered veal scallopini from the specials board and it was absolutely amazing! The staff are really friendly and the prices are pretty good too. I can't wait to return for another feed :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walsh_miranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Warm friendly staff, good value meals”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

First time visit and I must say we were impressed, this unassuming place had some of the friendliest service staff in all Tasmania, the meals were generous, yummy and good value. We ate in the main restaurant part on a Friday night, it was busy as, so prob book ahead. Loved it and will go back again soon for sure.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Child Inn also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Ocean Child Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing