We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to spend a Friday afternoon in Hobart”

Gourmania Food Tours Tasmania
Ranked #4 of 26 Food & Drink in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We will take you on a gourmet journey of the delightful city of Hobart, introducing you to the finest Tasmanian food and wine and the passionate industry professionals making it all happen. You will be offered generous portions of delectable treats on this progressive feast as you discover what makes Hobart a terrific city in which to be a foodie!
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I spent an enjoyable afternoon wandering through Hobart with Mary discovering the hidden new venues for food and beverages. These are the new places to visit in Hobart that will become old favourites in the future. It was rather special having a restaurant open just for our visit. The staff at each venue were full of knowledge and very welcoming. Mary has put together a great itinerary with a variety of things to try that will suit everyone's taste.

Thank Bensonshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Food2urist, Owner at Gourmania Food Tours Tasmania, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed our afternoon itinerary - the great staff in these venues full of passion for their industry are the treasures of Hobart's blooming food scene - it is so rewarding to be able to introduce you to them & experience some of the fabulous local products they showcase.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"food scene"
in 21 reviews
"city tour"
in 22 reviews
"tapas tour"
in 13 reviews
"food and wine"
in 13 reviews
"great introduction"
in 11 reviews
"pastry chef"
in 5 reviews
"wonderful morning"
in 6 reviews
"sorbet"
in 3 reviews
"spice shop"
in 2 reviews
"sweet pastry"
in 2 reviews
"planned tour"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful walking tour"
in 2 reviews
"salmon"
in 12 reviews
"food lovers"
in 4 reviews
"small group"
in 11 reviews
"love food"
in 3 reviews
"cheese shop"
in 3 reviews
Filter

162 - 166 of 200 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent a delicious morning with Mary wandering the beautiful city of Hobart. Mary offered a great variety of places to visit and it is clear that her background in the Hobart hospitality industry means that she is well placed to offer a real insight into Hobart's foodie hotspots.

The tour was well-paced and had something for everyone (dietary needs/preferences were graciously catered for).

Thank enivedblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Food2urist, Owner at Gourmania Food Tours Tasmania, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed the City Tour experience and appreciated our attention to catering for all dietary requirements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent a wonderful morning with Mary visiting superb food outlets and hearing fascinating stories about Hobart's wild past. We began with delectable morsels of fresh salmon and finished with home made ice cream with a lot in between. This is a wonderful tour-wear comfortable shoes because there is a bit of walking, but it is easy and leisurely. I actually live in Hobart and now have ten new places to shop at or take friends and visitors to.
It is lovely that Mary takes small groups (max 8 people). One feels like a friend rather than a tourist.
Do try and fit this into your itinerary if you can. You won't regret it.
We actually booked the afternoon tour as well (Tea to Tapas) but it was cancelled due to inclement weather. However Mary is refunding us totally and she even sent us to another wonderful place for a complimentary coffee.
Doesn't get much better!

Thank ozzygal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Food2urist, Owner at Gourmania Food Tours Tasmania, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments! It is so upsetting when a tour needs to be cancelled - forecast of hail and wind gusts at 50 km/h was enough to dampen any chance of it going ahead! So pleased you were able to discover another new place when you went to enjoy your consolatory coffee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We had tremendous fun with Mary and the other group members. The food was, of course, to die for. The history of Hobart and its food culture, through Mary's eyes, was the icing in the cake. There were vegetarian and child group members. All were catered for and I now wish I had claimed to be a teetotaler as the fresh juice tasting alternative to the wine tasting sounded equally enjoyable. If you take this tour have either no breakfast, or a minuscule one. Highly recommended.

Thank Princessgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Food2urist, Owner at Gourmania Food Tours Tasmania, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We do pride ourselves in catering for special dietary requirements and we are very fortunate to have such co-operative venues on tour which not only serve a great product, but really go the extra mile & give special attention to the group. Enjoy the rest of your holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

What a delightful morning we had. New to Hobart so what a great way to learn your way around plus gather many ideas for the rest of the time in Hobart. Super historian and lovely to see Mary sharing stories of her ancestors. Top notch eateries and info on foodie and wine scene in Hobart.
Have already revisited some of the places highlighted on the tour.
Have booked in to do a second tour next week

Thank swellgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Food2urist, Owner at Gourmania Food Tours Tasmania, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

So much fun to have a new "local" on tour & show you all the best places to go! Looking forward to introducing you to more of the sensational food & wine on offer in Hobart!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmania Food Tours Tasmania also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Gourmania Food Tours Tasmania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing