We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visionary Architecture that changed with the times”

The Tench (Penitentiary Chapel Historic Site)
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.70*
and up
Hobart Half-Day Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour
Ranked #6 of 136 things to do in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Hear incredible tales of crime and punishment as you are led through the courts and tunnels to the chapel, cells and gallows of this internationally-significant convict site, owned and operated by the National Trust. Join us for Guided Day Tours running up to 4 times daily on weekdays and 2 times on weekends, 'Pandemonium' a 40 minute film about our convict past and for our Ghost Tour. Bookings recommended for Day Tours and Pandemonium and essential for Ghost Tour. Please note that access to the site is by Guided Tour Only.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visionary Architecture that changed with the times”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

A visit to Port Arthur isn't complete without a visit to the Penitentiary Chapel, and a trip to Penitentiary Chapel isn't complete without a visit to Port Arthur. You need to see them both to understand the historical context.

The National Trust are doing a great job in preserving this historic site, so this has to be a "must see" for any trip to Tasmania. Become immersed in the genius of the versatile architecture that adapted to the changing needs of the community, and the history that connected to Briton, Canada, United States, and New Zealand, to Australia.

I will definitely take a repeat visit next time in Hobart to follow how the story unfolds.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    218
    44
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Penitentiary chapel”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I decided to do this tour because we had read in The Lonely Planet Guide that this was well worth seeing. We thoroughly enjoyed this experience, our guide Barry was very informative and entertaining. The tour lasted over 2 hours and we would recommend that this tour is a must see in Hobart and very reasonably priced.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hobart history”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had a thoroughly entertaining and enjoyable tour of the Hobart Penitentiary Chapel yesterday. It is always interesting to discover history and stories relating to your home city. Our tour guide Barry was very knowledgeable and fun. A great couple of hours!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It seems like yesterday”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We did the tour of the historic penitentiary chapel and it was fantastic.
Our guide Barry has so much passion for his job and his knowledge of all the history and the stories are fantastic.
The place is remarkable and is a must do for anyone visiting Hobart.

Ruth & Andreas

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Penitentiary Hobart”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Barry, our expert guide, took two hours to tell the story of the Penitentiary. The tour starts slowly but you soon become engrossed in the history of the place, right up to the very last chapter which is told with dignity and sympathy. A sobering but very interesting afternoon. Take your National Trust card.
Robin and Dee

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tench (Penitentiary Chapel Historic Site) also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to The Tench (Penitentiary Chapel Historic Site)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing