We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour at Penitentiary Chapel, Hobart” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tench (Penitentiary Chapel Historic Site)

The Tench (Penitentiary Chapel Historic Site)
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.49*
and up
Hobart Half-Day Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour
Ranked #4 of 133 things to do in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Hear incredible tales of crime and punishment as you are led through the courts and tunnels to the chapel, cells and gallows of this internationally-significant convict site, owned and operated by the National Trust. 'No Mercy' convict courtroom drama and ghost tours also available. Open daily, but bookings recommended and essential for theatre and ghost tours.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great tour at Penitentiary Chapel, Hobart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

This really was a great tour. I had a few hours to spare before my afternoon flight and took in the 10.30 tour. The tour guide was friendly and full of information and actually he probably helped bring the whole thing to life, full of chat. The underground tunnel we an unexpected surprise and I really did get a feel for the history of the whole prison. If you are in Hobart with a couple of hours to spare I would highly recommend this one.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank endashirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    212
    41
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drysdale, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We went through the tunnels with Barry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our time touring the Penitentiary Chapel with Barry as our guide. Very knowledgeable and entertaining. Learnt a lot! You must visit when in Hobart. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jojoduffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We did the Penitentiary tour on our recent Hobart holiday, whilst waiting for our tour to begin we were free to browse the two museum rooms which were fascinating. The tour itself took about two hours and the guide was friendly and informative. We were allowed to take unlimited photos off all areas and take our time to chat about the buildings. We highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting to learn more about convict life or wishing to see it for themselves. Also recommend sneaker type footware as the steep narrow stairs and underground tunnels are uneven and thongs/heels are not suitable. Also this tour might be upsetting to some people, especially the execution yard and the underground tunnels would be unsuitable for those with claustraphobia.

Helpful?
1 Thank TassieReviewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ColandChris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were quite amazed that this little gem isn't more widely known. The buildings were so full of character and the underground cells rather chilling. I'm sure that children will be as entranced with the place as well as adults.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
1 review
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Had a great morning at the penitentiary. Our guide was excellent and overflowing with infomation. Well worth the visit if looking for some history in hobart .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank channy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tench (Penitentiary Chapel Historic Site) also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to The Tench (Penitentiary Chapel Historic Site)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing