We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tour of the old Hobart Gaol with Barry Champion.”

The Tench (Penitentiary Chapel Historic Site)
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.65*
and up
Hobart Half-Day Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour
Ranked #5 of 133 things to do in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Hear incredible tales of crime and punishment as you are led through the courts and tunnels to the chapel, cells and gallows of this internationally-significant convict site, owned and operated by the National Trust. Join us for Guided Day Tours running up to 4 times daily on weekdays and 2 times on weekends, 'Pandemonium' a 40 minute film about our convict past and for our Ghost Tour. Bookings recommended for Day Tours and Pandemonium and essential for Ghost Tour. Please note that access to the site is by Guided Tour Only.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Tour of the old Hobart Gaol with Barry Champion.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Spent part of the day doing a tour with Barry. We went in the tunnels, courtrooms and cells.The tunnels were my favourite. I liked the hanging platform and pulled the lever. Even though it doesn't work I could still imagine what happened. Barry had many great stories to tell about the place including a ghost.I learnt heaps about the history of the Gaol. I am only 11 but Barry makes the tours interesting and fun even for us kids. It was a top day and I would reccomend Barry as your next guide.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    216
    44
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting & Imformative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

this tour was very interesting and our guide jeff was very informative and could answer our questions in detail. lots to see in 2 small museums with books of former prisoners to flick through. look for your name bit of fun! the tour lasted 1.5hrs which is great value for money. highly recommend. 5 out of 5

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GJ2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Tour of the Penitentiary Chapel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

A lengthy, informative tour, heaps of information on the building history and the history of the surrounding area. We learnt a lot about the convict and early justice system.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharron1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Older than big ben”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great tour with 17 people that went for nearly 2 hours which was very informative and extensive. We had a great time learning about the history of Hobart's early settlement and convict life before Port Arthur.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Older than Port Arthur!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had a wonderful, personal tour that was informative and a real eye opener. There are regular tours, however we arrived between the schedule and were looked after. Excellent service from a knowledgeable and entertaining guide.

You can feel the cold chill of many a convict who was led to the court room through the underground tunnel. Walk through the tunnel and view the tiny solitary confinement cells. It's a real maze of a structure, with a long and broad history.

A great, value for money, city based option especially if you don't have the time for the three hour return drive to Port Arthur. Had two young children who also enjoyed the tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Narelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tench (Penitentiary Chapel Historic Site) also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to The Tench (Penitentiary Chapel Historic Site)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing