We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow food is trendy, slow service isn't!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mezethes Greek Taverna

Mezethes Greek Taverna
Ranked #25 of 591 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Slow food is trendy, slow service isn't!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Went to this place on a cold, rainy Sunday night - busy, busy! Despite being told it was not necessary to book when I went the day before, we were turned away and told to come back 45 minutes later. When we came back (after 30 minutes), there were several empty tables that remained empty for the night! Hmmm. The service was pathetic, and no one offered any explantion as to why the main course took 90 minutes to arrive! Clearly the kitchen couldn't cope, yet this was not communicated to the customer - yes WE are the reason these places DO exist or not. The wait staff were exceptional in NOT making eye contact with the hungry ones who waited - no excuses, no apologies, NO TIP! When we finally got to eat, the food was inconsistent. The stuffed lamb rack seems exceptional and my char grilled octopus was tasteless. Very lazy side salad of various mesclun lettuce. All in all a disappointing experience of food and service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reets666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    239
    71
    37
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely Food, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early for dinner before the place filled up. (It can be a little noisy when busy.)
Once again staff greeted us with courtesy and a smile.
Food was delicious and our two courses were nicely timed.
Excellent value.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TelNin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Could of been a better experience!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch to this restaurant and walked in in which the waitress told us to sit anywhere we like and she would right with us. Well not exaggerating no menus, no order of drinks, no hint of getting served for the next 20 minutes!! Watching the waitress she appeared a bit frazzled and there were a few patrons both inside and outside the restaurant but when we tried to get her attention it was if she just plain forgot about us until my colleague waved his arms frantically to get her attention. The waitress finally came over and took our orders without a single apology now I have have recently been to the Greek Islands and I know how laid back the Greeks are but the service there was by far much better and they knew how to treat their patrons ind this waitress wasn't even greek!!!! I ordered the souvlaki and I have to say it was nice I have had better but it was tasty and fresh and the pit bread was very yum! Restaurants need to acknowledge the fact service is just as important as the food and patrons don't want to feel they have been ignored!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey60_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
“Happy Customer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

My daughter (who by the way is a very fussy eater) and a friend had lunch here today, beautiful food, good service and a happy daughter, what more could you want

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Going Greek”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Ate here last Sunday for lunch, first time at a Greek restaurant but I have eaten traditional Greek food. We had the banquet for two with the meat platter. The food was very good and lots of it, service was a bit slow but in the end it needed to be so you could pace the eating. Others had the octopus which was a bit chewy. Would defiantly be happy to go back and work through the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jjw2763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezethes Greek Taverna also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Mezethes Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing