We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast portion sizes”
Review of Environs Cafe - CLOSED

Environs Cafe
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast portion sizes”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We dropped into this cafe for breakfast before a busy day sightseeing. The food had a home style feel. Decor was a little plain. Good size meals. Enjoyed the corn fritter and potato hash.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    38
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Brekkie”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

This was our fourth visit to Environs and it has not failed to impress. Each time we have visited we have been greeted by multiple staff members, including kitchen staff and have quickly been made to feel welcome. The coffee is amazing and the menu has a vast variety of choices that should suit most palates. The breakfast wagu burger is difficult to go past and the corn cakes are light fluffy and very morish. We will be back :)

Helpful?
Thank Cam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely Battery Point”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Battery Point is a lovely spot and there are a stack of cafes to choose from! I went for Environs Cafe as their menu seemed good. Sunday lunchtime - the place was packed. Managed to grab a spot at the big communal table. Water was brought out and my order taken promptly. Ordered the vegie burger - which was a lovely bun, loads of grilled vegies, aioli, swiss cheese and tomato - with a delicious chutney and some avocado on the side. Very good food. Add a pot of tea - the bill came in under $20. My only (usual) gripe - service! I'll say it again - staff, when you take food out to a customer clear and wipe a table on your way back. Please!!! I was seated at a table that had to be cleared and wasn't wiped. I also got to observe a staff member standing beside an uncleared table as he surveyed the room then went back to the front empty handed once he saw everyone was taken care of. Honestly, I felt like grabbing a cloth and helping out. It was busy - but not that busy!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raecheyraech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for a mid-week lunch”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Three visits so far, and I'd go back again. This casual and quirky little café has a great light lunch menu and very reasonable prices. The veggie burger is substantial, excellent and has a wonderful chutney. Good coffee too, and served as asked (extra hot, double shot). Variable service, but always served quickly. Mid-week lunch time is not very busy so we didn't need to book. Some of the chairs are a bit wobbly, but it is a minor irritation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGiantGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best breaky in Hobart”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Delicious!! Very tasty food and nice relaxed staff, new fave breaky spot in Hobart!! Eggs benny and the pancakes are a must!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghop001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Environs Cafe also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing