We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burger”
Review of Environs Cafe - CLOSED

Environs Cafe
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great burger”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Had a workday lunch here and it was really great. Breakfast is served all day, but I went for one of the actual lunch options. I had the Wagyu Beef Burger with Seeded Mustard, Sauteed Beetroot, Caramelized Onion and Green Tomato Pickle. It was as tasty as it sounds. The apple and ginger juice is freshly squeezed and worth a try as well. Service was attentive and fast and the outdoor seating is really nice on a warm day.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esika_Des
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    38
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Continuous Improvement”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Environs struggled to find it's feet in my opinion. I loved this little cafe when it first opened, the food is excellent and the menu is very well priced. However everyone cottoned on and the place got busy....which is fine, but not if it takes over an hour to get a coffee, let alone your breakfast. I boycotted the venue for a few months after being continuously let down. I retried the venue after a hiatus, and I am so glad that I did. Firstly, I was extremely happy to see that hte prices had not changed despite the growing popularity of the cafe, the food was served quickly, the wait staff were attentive and the whole expereience was just very enjoyable. Two thumbs up.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Big Breakfast”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Their home made baked beans are fab, you will never eat canned ones again! Eggs Florentine delicious with yummy Hollandaise sauce, service staff are lovely and friendly too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Environs - a poor imitation of what it one was - Mummy's”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We started going to Mummy's in 1988 and kept going back for the Nacho's, coffee but mostly the atmosphere. We infact went there after our wedding for a cappuccino - sadly when it was for sale for $50,000 we didnt buy it, and now it is a shadow of its former self. Where once it catered to University students and the alternative (the type of place Marx and Ingels would have gone to plan their revolution, or Che and Fidel... it is now soul-less.... no atmosphere... catering for the type of ppl that close down coffee roasting houses because they dont like the smell of beans in the morning. It WAS a fantastic place, small - yes, crowded - yes, dirty, maybe so but it was OUR place. Now sadly it is just another below average cafe. I wish the woman who ran it in c1988-90 would come back. We miss you and your cafe!!!
It has gone and despite all the incarnatons it will never be what it was...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salhaladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service experience sets benchmark.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Fourth time at Environs today. It was fantastic. We had previously decided not to return to Environs because whilst the food was consistently excellent the service had been consistently chaotic.
We went this morning with grave reservations but it was a birthday brekkie invitation and so we braced ourselves for messy tables and inattentive service.
What a great turn around there has been. It was a busy morning and from the moment we entered there was a sense of a FOH team who were all working seamlessly together, had set standards and delivered excellence in hospitality.
The food was still delicious and the whole experience was a real pleasure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charleareid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Environs Cafe also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing