We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food, friendly staff and good value”
Review of Vina Yummy Kitchen

Vina Yummy Kitchen
Ranked #293 of 596 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Gold Coast, Queensland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb food, friendly staff and good value”
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Being used to good Vietnamese food we were wary of an 'out of the way' Vietnamese restaurant, particularly with a cafe look about it, buyer were really pleasantly surprised. Holidaying in Hobart from the Gold Coast we want to try as many different eateries as we can but we are seriously considering going back tonight. Yes the food was that good. noticed a few Vietnamese patrons too so that's always a good sign.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GC_Foodie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    6
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Better if they were consistent”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This establishment is situated opposite Coles in Sandy Bay and carparking is available on the street. They offer Vietnamese fare which is priced between $11 to about $15 for their main dishes. They also offer cold rolls and their version of fried dim sum. You place and pay for your order at their front counter and then wait at your table for your food to arrive. The decor is more cafe like in appearance and is simple and you pick up your cutlery at the counter too.

Sometimes the wait for your food can be lengthy and the food is not always consistent, for example the Vietnamese pork or chicken are Sometimes overcooked or they forget to bring the side dishes that come with the main meals. On two occasions they gave us chicken instead of the Vietnamese pork we ordered, how can that happen!! Generally the food is either nice or average dependant on what you order. It would be better if their food was consistent. Their prawn crackers are very nice though and apparently come from Vietnam. The staff are friendly and it's a relaxing atmosphere to dine in. They are certainly much better than Vietnamese kitchen in Salamanca place in Hobart.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Catpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a good place to go if you want a reasonably priced meal of good quality. I visit frequently and are never disappointed. They have a varied menu with photographs so you know what to expect. The staff are friendly.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food! A must try!”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I confess, coming to this place is the main reason that brought me to Hobart many times. My wife and I love their "Spicy beef noodle soup" and "Vietnamese beef noodle soup" so much we have made it habit to go back at least once every year. The soup stock is aromatic, has just the right clarity, and most importantly it tastes good. To be honest, the noodle soup isn't very authentically Vietnamese, but it's still very very good! The finger food are also very tasty and well made, we have tried deep fried prawn wrap, fresh spring roll wrap, and dim sim.

The service is normally nothing to complain about until the time they got our order wrong, and wasn't happy about replacing it with the correct dishes. I guess every restaurant owner would be unhappy, but to make it obvious to your customer is not smart.

The price is very reasonable, choices are enormous, table arrangement is a bit cram but still comfortable.

I would recommend orderiing your noodle soup with flat rice noodle because they'll give you the round ones by default.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Good Vietnamese Food”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Excellent food but ask to have it cooked fresh rather than having the preheated food on display. Staff are friendly but don't speak much English but this is not a problem as photos of food are on display. Soup is highly recommended and one bowl of laksa is more than enough for a meal. Prices are very reasonable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vina Yummy Kitchen also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Vina Yummy Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing