We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great take away”
Review of Blue Eye

Blue Eye
Ranked #15 of 595 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Blue Eye is a quality seafood restaurant on Hobart's waterfront, cooking fresh and tasty local fish and seafood. It has a modern menu specialising in grilled fish dishes, seafood platters, and fish and chips.Try some local Bruny Island oysters or Spring Bay mussels to start, followed by char-grilled fish, a seafood curry, paella or real-ale battered fish and chips. The dishes change regularly depending on what fish is available.For the non-fish eater there are steaks, char-grilled to order, as well as vegetarian and gluten free dishes. Take away food is also available.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great take away”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I ordered take away for dinner on a work trip whilst staying at the adjacent Somerset on Salamanca and was delighted with a lovely box of crumbed fish and chips with tartare sauce on the side. The diners looked very happy on this chilly mid week evening and most tables were full. I'll be sure to eat in next visit, however my take away was top notch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrissylou62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    236
    63
    39
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waterfront gem with outstanding service”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We ambled past this restaurant during our first walk round Hobart and thought "that looks nice for tonight" and booked a table. We couldn't have been more happy with the outstanding service the 4 of us all received (kids are 7 & 5 and were treated beautifully) and the previously undiscovered gem, the Morwong. Fabulous fish, first class waiter, charming owner and a gorgeous local Pinot Grigio, all for $150. Go here, I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie K, Owner at Blue Eye, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Ashley - I am so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your meal at Blue Eye. Thank you for your positive feedback. Hopefully you can visit us again when you are next in Hobart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Blue Eye”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Good food, but quite expensive and outrageous corkage for BYO. We weren't made aware that we would be paying $12.00 per head for the privilege of supplying our own wine, and hey we even had to ask for a wine cooler which wasn't offered.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulJD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie K, Owner at Blue Eye, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
The corkage charge at Blue Eye is $12 PER BOTTLE (not $12 per head as you state). The corkage charge is clearly outlined on our wine list and also on our web-site. This charge is not unreasonable, given our location on Hobart's waterfront. If a table has multiple BYO we usually cap the corkage at a reasonable amount, far less than $12 per head. If you were charged for BYO incorrectly please get in touch with us and we will rectify this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food and fantastic service”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a great dinner at Blue Eye on a rainy Friday night.
The service was great (the waiter let me try 2 different wines before I settled on my preferred option, for example) and the food was hearty and tasty (particularly the seafood chowder).

We would definitely recommend this restaurant and would love to go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, expert service”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Welcoming , attentive, well informed staff. Beautiful food. chowder was lovely. Mixed seafood grill a stand out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JanieG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Eye also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Blue Eye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing