We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home delivered, tasty and great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Saffron

The Saffron
Reserve with
The Saffron is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 595 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home delivered, tasty and great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We ordered our meal from Saffrons on www.eatnow.com.au, great idea. Meal was delivered within 30 minutes to our hotel room. Very tasty indian. We walked past later in the week and it looked really nice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank soonami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    88
    39
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kutchan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We dropped in on a Sunday night and were welcomed with a warm smile from the hostess. The food was good (not the best Indian I have had) but more than compensated by the attentive and friendly service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ezosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely dreadful dining experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

6 of us popped into this restaurant last Sunday evening. Not at all crowded. We ordered 5 dishes and a bottle of wine. The wine arrived. So did some very soggy samosas. Over one hour later still no dinner . We gently remonstrated with the sole young woman serving the tables...very busy she said. We pointed out there were only four tables with customers including us and one had been served and almost finished their meal. Another 40 minutes. We called her over again and asked for the manager. She departed but no manager appeared. As for the food when it finally arrived, over 2 hours after we ordered, very very ordinaire! Just take-away standard.
No manager nor other personnel ever came near us to apologise even as we left.....AVOID at all cost..........

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank momoCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wide Bay, Qld
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

After reading through reviews and seeing a mixed bag decided to try for ourselves. Monday night and quite cool - no problem in restaurant - decided to take away. Attended to immediately, placed order sat at bar for a drink. Finishing drink our order was ready even though we had added to it as it smelt divine while waiting. The staff were attentive despite being busy. The food was great so can only recommend it. We did not eat all as the serves were very generous the poppadoms crisp.
An enjoyable meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best Indian in Australia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Have eaten here for 7 years and enjoyed every meal and the taste explodes in your mouth - a taste sensation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saffron also viewed

 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to The Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing