We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slow service and ordinary breakfast”
Review of Dome

Dome
Ranked #358 of 597 Restaurants in Hobart
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“slow service and ordinary breakfast”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

went for breakfast - slow service and worst scrambled eggs Coffee was ok tea ordinary had better and cheaper elsewhere

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    46
    24
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Convenient, if you have the time to wait, and wait....”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Shop nearly empty, staff talking, and yet it takes nearly quarter of an hour to get one coffee. You don't want to go here if you are limited in time. This is the second time in a week where service is extremely slow.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“OFFENSIVE RUBBISH”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

On July 4, 2013 I wrote a short review about my experience in Dome as I was surprised to read so many bad reviews about the place. Well, I must have been very lucky that time because a couple of weeks ago I took a friend for lunch at Dome’s hoping that it was as good as my previous times but oh boy wasn’t this an embarrassment! The meat in my friend’s dish was thin, dried up, leather-like and disgusting to look at let alone eat. My dish was equally revolting and both orders came with greasy, cold, over cooked inedible chips and a petty amount of lettuce leaves so old they were already slimy. We both had a glass of orange juice and decided to have coffee and dessert somewhere else to make up for this embarrassing disappointment. All the same I walked out of there paying over $40 AU dollars for rubbish one wouldn’t give to a dog. It was that bad that were it not because it was my friend’s birthday and I didn’t want to upset her day, I would have sent the two orders back and walked out of that dreadful place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Nice Coffee and a Super Breakfast”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

In the heart of downtown Hobart's business district, the Dome is a casual and very handy spot for a freshly cooked breakfast of two eggs, lots of bacon, and toast for just over $A13.00. Great value considering it is delivered straight from the kitchen cooked to order and hot.
The coffee is very good and there is a wide range of other standard breakfast items to choose from as well.
The seating is a combination of casual armchair settings, standard tables and booths, if you have a group.
If you have a few minutes and want a really good home cooked style breakfast this spot would be hard to beat and the prices are pretty keen as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caboolture, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Could be anywhere.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Really clean and tidy with great customer service.
What you would expect from any franchise type establishment anywhere in Australia.
It would have been nice to have some Tasmanian Fare on the menu.
If you are looking for somewhere clean, comfortable and not to stretch you boundaries then this is for you.
There is a good range of menu items and some good hearty fare for those cold Tassie days.
Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avromark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dome also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing