We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty and Friendly”

Boat House Restaurant Cornelian Bay
Ranked #57 of 595 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Right on the beach at Cornelian Bay, the Boat House occupies one of the most beautiful settings in Hobart, 5 km north of the CBD. Fabulous water views with the Tasman bridge as a backdrop, the Boat House is the perfect location for family outings to the and park, long lavish lunches, a romantic candle lit dinner for two, or any special occasion, also holding functions of up to 150 people. Recent owner since November 2013, John Demir, has 20 years experience in the restaurant industry as a chef. Now he has taken on role of front of house position as host. The contemporary Australian menu changes seasonally to encompass the freshest Tasmanian produce available.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

While staying at MONA we decided to try a local restaurant and hit the jackpot with The Boathouse - great food, friendly staff and a view to die for - a must go if you are in the Hobart area. John and John from Sunshine Beach in Queensland

Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah G, Owner at Boat House Restaurant Cornelian Bay, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hello John and John. I was so lovely to meet you on Saturday night. Thank you for your fabulous review. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Boat House when you are next in Hobart. I hope you enjoyed your stay at amazing Mona. Kind regards, Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    80
    23
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They still do a great chowder!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Went there for lunch last week and had their famouse Boat House chowder. Haven't had it for at least 6 months - so glad it was still the same - thumbs up for consistency guys! Yum, I'll be back!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zenep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah G, Owner at Boat House Restaurant Cornelian Bay, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hi Zenep, Thank you for your review. Yes our famous chowder is still on the menu. It has remained the same trusted recipe for 13 years now. Please let me know if you would like me to email it to you, call me on 62 289 289. Also did you know that we also sell the chowder at our new kiosk and cafe so you can just pop in and get some to take away. Hope to see you soon. Thanks again, Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Fish overcooked and overpriced.Tasted like something that's been left in a bane maree too long Lovely setting let done by poor food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A hidden gem up the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went to mini Monday and what a surprise. It really is a hidden gem up the river and not that easy to get to without a car. It is a $15 cab fare from the city but worth every cent. Do yourselves a favour and give the dockside restaurants a miss and make the effort as you won't be disappointed. It was a very busy night and the staff and kitchen coped with style. The food was creative and excellent.. Well done

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RonM894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah G, Owner at Boat House Restaurant Cornelian Bay, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Boat House patrons. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you back to the Boat House in the future. Warm regards, Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“boatshed restaurant cornelian bay hobart tas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

fabulous!. best food, best service, best view. we went to their mini friday feast for $38 per person, you have a choice of 3 dishes on their whole menu for your $38. they are mini meals but I asure you each meal is as big a one full price meal at other restaurants, the food was fabulous agreed by all four of us, the best we have had in tasmania, surpassing even the revolving restaurant at the casino. the service first class, the tables set apart so you had privacy, the view great, each table set up so everyone has a great view. white tablecloths sparkling glasses, we had a fabulous night. I had duck, pork, steak for my choices but you can mix with sweet as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank m0nty999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah G, Owner at Boat House Restaurant Cornelian Bay, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your glowing review. We hope to welcome you back to the Boat House soon. Regards Leah and the Boat House team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boat House Restaurant Cornelian Bay also viewed

 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Boat House Restaurant Cornelian Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing