We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parisian penthouse a true delight”
Review of The Last Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Last Villa
Ranked #26 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

What an eclectic property!
I loved our 3nights here in early jan 14.
Great views over the derwent and a warm cosy and extremely different apartment.
Its not for everyone. Infirmed and older will have difficulty/impossibility with the stairs and access. The bathroom is pokey and difficult and the kitchen is a cupboard.
Aside from these issues i found the place exciting, arty, great design influence and very pleasing.
The penthouse at $400 per night at this time of year is ridiculously pricey for what it is but i loved it and would return in a heartbeat.
For a very different Hobart experience try Last Villas, named after the architect steve last.
Car essential but no on site parking provided. - points for that.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vpctvma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Owner at The Last Villa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Vpctvma,
Thank you for your wonderful comments ,the experince intended is to be a vision of Parisian illusion ..yes the bathroom and kithen spaces are compact but as you noted very functional and a departure from our traditional Austarlian design exposure ,,,,,,,,,,,,hence the vacation experince is enhanced ..i am not sure if you stood on the decorative metal work balcony and enjoyed a glass of Tasmanian red whilst overlooking the River Derwents aquatic activity ,this is becoming a feature enjoyed by our gusets who often comment on this elevated experince .
I note your comment on car space as it is not provided ,.i agree this allows your mind to be free from the traditional day to day activity { note parking is available on the street and only 30 metres from the villa}.....see you on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 33 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

My bestie and I were lucky enough to escape to the Parisian Penthouse for what has become a truly memorable, perfect weekend away! The room was was perfect--wonderfully designed, cosy, and amazing views of the water. We wanted to move in and never leave! We made great use of the bicycles, spending the morning riding into Salamanca and pottering around the shops and galleries. And of course, the complimentary bottle of bubbly was a wonderful touch! Thanks so much to David Last and his beautifully designed property--would love to visit again!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Owner at The Last Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for your appreciative comments ,i also wish to advise that the Parisian Studio Penthouse will include a roof deck planned to be constructed in mid November yet another inclusion of ecclectic ideals....................it will command the ultimate vistas.
New Release Video Drone 2014 to be included on the Last Villa web site today.........the video is a wonderful taste of Experince Europe in Sandy Bay .............a feature is the drone flies from within the Penthouse and beyond ,please view it to gain the Last Birds Eye View.....i look foward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

If you want an eclectic, off beat and funky stay in Hobart, head for Last Villas. Not five star but what a blast. Totally unique experience and a stack of fun. Heaps more interesting than a cookie cutter international hotel and the owner, an architect, elevates quirky to an art form. Treat yourself to something different and try it out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Owner at The Last Villa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Matt,
Thank you for your comments, yes the Last Villa is an indivdula retreat with a common theme of Experince Europe in Sandy Bay, i like your comment heaps more interesting than a cookie cutter international hotel .Enjoy i look foward to your next visit kind regards Steven Last

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Last Villa, situated in the tranquil surrounds of Sandy Bay, is an experience everyone should have the opportunity to try at LEAST once. The surrounding view from my villa is just perfect and being greeted by the irrepressible owner, Steven Last, (who bears a striking resemblance to Salvador Dali) with a glass of champagne on arrival completes the serenity. The furnishings and interior design (all done by Last, who's an architect) of the apartments indulge the visionary senses and make for a comfortable and stimulating stay. If you're intending to visit MOMA while you're in Hobart, then the Last Villa is definitely where you should be staying as an entrée to what can only be described as an artistic journey to this beautiful part of Australia.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel_O899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Owner at The Last Villa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Mel,
Thank you for your comments I shall keep you informed of all future creative programmed events and installations kind regards Steven Last

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our host had provided us with a nice bottle of local champagne to add to what was a very well stocked larder for hotel accommodation. We had an excellent view of the harbour and to our delight saw "WILD OATS ELEVEN" race in on our very 1st morning. We enjoyed the location and the eclectic mix of furnishings and the boat like fittings of our unit which all contributed to the feeling of a home away from home. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend to any one with an artistic bent and a sense of adventure. Only negatives were the rickety stairs we had to carry our bags up and the very low ceiling in the bathroom over the toilet. It all added to the Paris feel though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Owner at The Last Villa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Christine
I thank you for your kind comments, your desciption of WILD OATS ELEVEN sailing by is perfect a rare experince indeed ,see you at the 2014 Sydney - Hobart race kind regards Steven Last

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We chose in the Voyager Studio and would not have stayed if it we had not booked through Wotif with a no refund policy.
The description on the website is imaginative and seductive but not honest. There was no 'private courtyard' - it was shared with the other guests, as was the external WC. The 'sculptural courtyard' had no sculpture and features the clothesline. The 'Japanese influence' in the decor was imaginary - a cheap red chinese lantern, and two japanese tea cups, plus the black painted floor was as far as I could stretch it. 'Artistic'?- there was one piece of art in the room - a nice print but not at all Japanese. The colour scheme of lime green, dark green, olive green, red, blue, black and dull silver grey paint, is inexcusable for anyone purporting to be an award winning designer. Or anyone. The overall feel of the 'eclectic' design was unfortunately shabby and ad hoc. But ok I can accept aesthetic difference of opinion, so what?
But why would you install a shower with the taps outside in the kitchen? Really inexcusable for an architect to make such terrible design decisions, not just bad aesthetic decisions, but sheer functionality.

On the positives it is really a lovely old building in a great location so maybe the other rooms are better to stay in. Parking in a side street, outdoor loo, the access stairs etc are all quite fine for the type of unique property that this is. Unfortunately the welcoming booklet had pages (literally 3 pages) of self congratulation about the architect and no information at all about the building. That probably says as much as you need to know about this vanity project. I could not recommend this accommodation based on our experience.

By the way I am an architect and my partner is a landscaper we were visiting Hobart for our anniversary and to see MONA. Our interests perfectly fitted with the description of the property - Garden/Art/Architecture. We were disappointed on every front, but Hobart and MONA were delightful all the same.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank GMG70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 15, 2013

Dear 'GMG70', thankyou for your comments our objective to generate awareness within a built environment. Obviously in all hospitality based business our aim is to please everyone but on occasions that is not the case. I do however agree additional information needs to be provided in terms of the history of the building. It is interesting to note that the building has gained recognition by the Tasmanian Heritage Register. A copy of the summary will be provided for all future guests. In terms of the interior design our team at the Last Villa are continually sourcing new products and materials and updating themes accordingly. I thankyou for your comments.

Kind Regards, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Last Villa is somewhere to recharge your creative batteries. The decor in each space is designed thoughtfully and offers a modern European feel. I have stayed twice at The Villa and referred many friends and colleagues - all who found the property wonderful. It is somewhere that you can spend time to re-gain inspiration. It is certainly the perfect spot to stay if you're in Hobart to visit MONA - at the end of the day it's great to sit by the window with a glass of bubbles and reflect on your experience.

My husband and I have stayed in Cruise Ship and the Penthouse and both were equally charming. The owner is welcoming and very helpful with recommendations on local attractions. He is an architect and you can clearly see his passion throughout the property.

I am sure The Last Villa is not for everyone. If you like chains such as Sofitel, Hyatt, or Sheraton, then the more boutique feel at the Villa may not appeal. This may be why a couple of the reviews below certainly don't reflect the experience at The Villa.

Room Tip: The Penthouse, Cruise Ship and Barcellona are all very large and are my best selections. If you real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharynHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
2.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
2.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
2.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,318 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 47 in Hobart
1,043 reviews
2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Villa

Address: 2A Nutgrove Ave, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $127 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Last Villa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Last Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Villa Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing