We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Battery Point Beauty!”
Review of The Grand Old Duke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grand Old Duke
Ranked #11 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
SYDNEY NSW Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Battery Point Beauty!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

By this do I mean the Grand Old Duke apartments or Betty (the Boss!)
Actually it covers both.
We stayed 9 nights in the upper level "home away from home".
It had everything we needed for a longer stay.
Location;location. It is close to everything yet it's quiet, A perfect base for restaurants, all busy, and to walk to the Salamanca area and much of the city.
Betty, always with a great smile and friendly yet unassuming help is the perfect hostess.
Definately a great place to stay if you don't want a big often impersonal lodging. Try it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 313KevinA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My 2 travel companions and I were thrilled with Apartment One at the Grand Old Duke. The rooms are beautifully furnished with period furniture and has a lovely atmosphere. The kitchen and the bathroom were clean and pleasant. Situated in Battery Point, it was lovely to stroll around the area admiring the buildings and the views. We ate at the lovely cafe across the road a couple of times and had a great lunch at the Jackman and McRoss bakery within walking distance up Hampden road. Historic Arthur's Circus is right near the apartment and the Salamanca Market Precinct and wharfs are within easy walking distance. There is a bus stop for the hop-on, hop-off tour bus very close by and we took advantage of that as we were able to buy the tickets from the driver. I thoroughly recommend the Grand Old Duke and I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013 - one night in the one bedroom with an extra bed put in, and then two nights in the upstairs grand 2 bedroom apartment. This apartment is really like a small house with a big kitchen and bedrooms with a queen and two single beds. Betty was very helpful right from the start and gave very clear instructions on getting access to the apartments. The building itself is beautifully furnished and contains all you need to be self catering, as well as being warm and cosy. The location is extremely convenient being a short walk from Salamanca, MONA ferry and all the best of Hobart. There are great cafes and a pub just a few steps up the road. Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Upstairs is best as there is no noise for the wooden floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bkkjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. As a family with 2 kids, Betty connected the two downstairs apartments and added an extra single bed so the kids didn't need to share a bed. All clean, well looked after, lovely period furniture, central heating. Only down side is that there was no table big enough for the 4 of us to sit together for a meal 'at home'. Didn't get to meet Betty but everything was well organised.

Great location and close to restaurants/cafes - really only a few minutes walk away, and nearest big supermarket 5 minute drive away. As others have said, you need to book for De Angelos but we found out they do take-away which is a great alternative!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sneezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in early April in the upstairs apartment & enjoyed it immensley. Location is one of the best points about The Duke. The neighbourhood has some superb houses. A 5 minute walk to Salamanca. Great restaurants & cafes all around.
I would like to give 5 stars, however the creaking floorboards & squeeky bed don't allow me. We were always conscious of making unnecessary noise for the people staying below us, while walking around on the floors.
The decor is in keeping with the era of the building and is a highlight. Very spacious throughout.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trainerkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

stayed at the Grand Old Duke (Apartment 1) for two nights recently (SAT & SUN) arrived early (11am) was greeted by Betty and as apartment had not been used the previous night was able to check in immediately, instantly surprised by how clean and thoughtfully decorated the apartment was, an absolute credit to Betty. As per previous reviews yes you do enter the main bedroom thru the second bedroom but no problems if travelling as a couple or with a couple of kids, could be different for two couples as only one queen and two singles in adjoining room. Cannot fault the rest of apartment, Huge lounge room, comfy lounge, delightful super comfy bed with quality doona,sheets and pillows, also good black out curtains and not too mush road noise, shower clean with awesome water pressure and endless hot H2o. fantastic central heating that was appreciated in a hobart winter kept the place toasty. even a bay view from lounge window and quaint village views from the rest. Location was excellent walking distance to Salamanca Markets, DAngelos (recommend to book) Shipwright Arms (great for a beer) Preachers Bar just up the road (good for craft beer on tap) couple of cafes just up the road JamJar (top breakfast & coffee) could go on & on, was pleasantly surprised after finding the grand old duke on line, Betty is awesome, easy to deal with and an absolute credit to this establishment, you will not find a better location in this price range, the only complaint i could make, is in the day of cheap flat screens the TV is due for an update....

Room Tip: if you don't require a bath Apartment 1 is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellingscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Three families stayed here over the Easter break. Great location. All rooms were very homely, comfy and clean. Betty is a great manager, always kept in touch and was very welcoming to all our needs. Short walks to great eateries, Da Angelo and The Shipwrights Arms. But important to book these as they are very popular. This is our second stay under Betty's managed properties and we have no hesitations to re book when we are back in Hobart.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RiverbendSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#9 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.6 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Old Duke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Old Duke

Property: The Grand Old Duke
Address: 31 Hampden Road | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Old Duke 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Old Duke is a restored 1850's Georgian inn and offers luxury accommodation in the heart of Battery Point, Hobart. Located next to Arthur Circus, it's only a short stroll to Salamanca Market, local bakeries, restaurants and pubs. Furnished with antiques, The Grand Old Duke is a step back in time and offers a unique experience for your Hobart stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Old Duke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Old Duke Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing