We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Old Duke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grand Old Duke
Ranked #11 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Three families stayed here over the Easter break. Great location. All rooms were very homely, comfy and clean. Betty is a great manager, always kept in touch and was very welcoming to all our needs. Short walks to great eateries, Da Angelo and The Shipwrights Arms. But important to book these as they are very popular. This is our second stay under Betty's managed properties and we have no hesitations to re book when we are back in Hobart.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RiverbendSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed one night at The Grand Old Duke in Feb, 2012. We're a 29 year old couple with no kids. It is a 5min walk to Salamanca Markets (definitely worth a visit), and is only metres away from great restaurants and cafes (tip: we were unable to get into the nearby restaurants without a reservation... however... we were able to get into a great Indian restaurant nearby... forget the name but it's only a few houses up. Excellent food, great service and a good selection of wines. Would definitely go back there!) It was about a 20min drive from Hobart airport, and being that we stayed on a weekend, the two hour parking limits did not apply, so we were able to get a 'celebrity park' right outside the front door... for free! (we hired a car). The apartment is situated in the most adorable street, with great little boutique shops and a very charming atmosphere.

We arrived to the apartment at 10am, however Betty was so warm and friendly and allowed us to leave our suitcases in our apartment while she got the room ready for us. She gave us a key to our room, and told us how to get to Salamanca markets... by the time we got back, the room was ready. And boy... what a room! For the price, it was amazing. We got 3 rooms... the main room with a 4 posted bed, T.V, dvd player (with a selection of dvd's), fire place, beautiful old style furniture and great views to the street. There was a spacious en-suite bathroom with a great shower/bath, that lead into another room, where we had a fridge, toaster oven, tea/coffee, etc. We didn't actually use the room, but it was a nice touch!

As the apartment is right on the street, we had fears of noise from passing cars and pedestrians. But it was really quiet. We got a great nights sleep! It did get quite cold at night, so we were lucky to find a heater in the room that worked a treat.

I would most definitely stay at The Grand Old Duke again. Betty is so friendly, warm and accommodating and made our stay that little bit more special. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ErinR934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the downstairs apartments. The location was great - I always love to stay around Battery Point as it is walking distance to many places but also has local charm. The apartment was fine with everthing we needed. There is only one space for offstreet parking which is right outside our apartment's door - hard to get into when a big four wheel drive is parked 1/2 a metre away from it. Nevertheless, it was easy to find a park close by. Betty the manager was very helpful and we would not hesitate to recomment this place

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sainttrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Beautiful accommodation in Battery Point. Good sized rooms, spotlessly clean, quiet location and within walking distance of everything Battery Point and Salamanca has to offer. Betty, the manager, is so friendly and helpful, the place is lucky to have her! Upstairs is fantastic for 4 people with 2 single beds and a queen bed. We had the chance to stay in 2 different apartments over the 3 nights and they were both equally beautiful, comfortable and gorgeous.
We chose to have breakfast up the road at Jackson and McRoss, famous bakery in Battery Point where EVERYTHING is delicious and the coffee is to die for! We can recommend Smolt (restaurant) at Salamanca just behind the main wharf area, unbelievably sumptuous meals- but remember to book as it's not very big and is usually booked out.
Avoid the Ghost Tour of Battery Point, we found it so disappointing with lots of inconsistencies and general ramblings not backed up by any historical fact at all. Would give the ghost tour of Port Arthur a try instead if it's ghosts you're after.
Definately chose The Grand Old Duke for accommodation. We made this our base and set out on day trips from here as everything in the Hobart area is an easy 2-3 hour drive. Will definately be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2hermanitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tassie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We loved the Grand Old Duke and will stay here again. The location is fantastic with Salamanca only a couple of minutes walk away. We have two small children and they loved the acccommodation and the pirate ship park at the end of the road. We stayed in the upstairs apartment which was extremely spacious and well equipped. We didn't cook anything in the kitchen as there are great restaurants close by, but it seemed to have everything you would need. The only thing that could be a disadvantage to some guests is that you have to walk through one bedroom to get to the master bedroom. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TassieDevil99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Very large apartment, very comfortable, lovely antique furnishings. Shared laundry outside. Free parking onsite or with pass on the street. Pleasant downhill walk to Salamanca Place (with free Internet cafes; no Internet in apt.)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DT25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

My sister and I stayed in apartment 2 at the Grand Old Duke. It was spotlessly clean, the proprietors were extremely helpful and friendly, it was private and in a brilliant location. The apartment is old-style (but not dowdy) and full of character. And the beds were very comfy. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.6 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Old Duke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Old Duke

Property: The Grand Old Duke
Address: 31 Hampden Road | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Old Duke 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Old Duke is a restored 1850's Georgian inn and offers luxury accommodation in the heart of Battery Point, Hobart. Located next to Arthur Circus, it's only a short stroll to Salamanca Market, local bakeries, restaurants and pubs. Furnished with antiques, The Grand Old Duke is a step back in time and offers a unique experience for your Hobart stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Old Duke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Old Duke Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing