We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Spacious, beautiful apartment in great location”
Review of The Grand Old Duke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Old Duke
Ranked #11 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Very large apartment, very comfortable, lovely antique furnishings. Shared laundry outside. Free parking onsite or with pass on the street. Pleasant downhill walk to Salamanca Place (with free Internet cafes; no Internet in apt.)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DT25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 67 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2011

My sister and I stayed in apartment 2 at the Grand Old Duke. It was spotlessly clean, the proprietors were extremely helpful and friendly, it was private and in a brilliant location. The apartment is old-style (but not dowdy) and full of character. And the beds were very comfy. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Our family of 4 had two connected suites taking up the entire main floor. It was so large and rambling that one could easily get lost inside. We had 2 sitting rooms, 2 bedrooms, 2 kitchens, 2 bathrooms and a connecting hallway. The decor is beautifully done, with thick, velvety window treatments (which was nice because they fronted directly onto the sidewalks, so kept the noise down, and views from passerbys down to a minimum). The beds had wonderful canopies, the sitting rooms had nice, comfy armchairs.

The TV was very small, and the dining table barely fit two -- not ideal for a family of 4, or two couples trying to dine together. Laundry was accessed from outside and shared with all the other suites. There is parking onsite for one small car, otherwise street parking is available (watch for the really high curbs).

No internet.

The location was excellent, in an area filled with nice, old Victorian homes. Lots of little restaurants close by, and an easy walk to downtown. This would be a great place to stay for an extended time. Noise is pretty minimal, and some noise from the people upstairs, but not intrusive.

Overall, a great place to stay, with comfortable beds, and cozy furnishings.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We stayed in apartment one which is a 2 bedroom self catering apartment with very large well furnished lounge, good well equipped kitchen and a bathroom. The bedrooms were one double bedded room and one twin bedded room and access to the bathroom from the double bedroom was through the twin room which might be a problem to some guests. The location was very good for visiting Hobart and there were several coffee and breakfast cafes in the area and Salamanca Market with even more restaurants, shops and cafes was nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FredaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled solo
Thank Derizemlya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, General Manager at The Grand Old Duke, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.6 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.1 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 47 in Hobart
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
0.6 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.6 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Old Duke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Old Duke

Address: 31 Hampden Road | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: $164 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Old Duke 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Old Duke is a restored 1850's Georgian inn and offers luxury accommodation in the heart of Battery Point, Hobart. Located next to Arthur Circus, it's only a short stroll to Salamanca Market, local bakeries, restaurants and pubs. Furnished with antiques, The Grand Old Duke is a step back in time and offers a unique experience for your Hobart stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Grand Old Duke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Old Duke Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing