We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in Hobart”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bendalls Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in Hobart”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had 2 nights in Bendalls in March, it was our honeymoon. We had a wonderful time, Karen and Roger are genuine, friendly people who looked after us very well. The breakfast supplies were more than enough to satisfy us both and the other couple who shared the kitchen and bathroom facilities were also very nice. The house is very well maintained and a great view of the mountain. Not far from Hobart so didn't take long to go sight seeing. Would highly recommend this wonderfully restored B&B to anyone looking for a homely place to stay. Thanks so much for making the start to our holiday a good one. Jill and Pete Schmid

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
42
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We spent 2 nights in April in bendalls bed and breakfast. Roger and Karen are very hospitable and make you feel at home. In fact it is a home from home especially if you book both rooms, as the shared deck, kitchen and bathroom work really well. The breakfast supplies work well and it is a short walk to local bakery/cafe which is excellent and supermarket. We had a car so transport to town was not an issue but bus stop is close by, and would save the hassle of parking. Well priced and convenient place to stay in Hobart.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Heritage building is interesting but requires shared toilet and bathroom. Toilet cistern is antique and requires some learning to work properly and can be a bit noisy. Shared kitchenette is well stocked and breakfast supplies are more than adequate. Bed comfortable but creature under the covers woke us up. Probably result of being an old building. Internet access is a bit limited despite being an advertised feature. Modem was inaccesible in the evenings through probably being turned off.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzit500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendalls, Owner at Bendalls Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Bendalls website describes the large shared bathroom and separate toilet which has a 19th century antique cast iron pull chain cistern. Owner/manager lives on-site and is available 24/7 to respond to any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Roger and Karen were lovely, welcoming hosts and we felt at home right away. We had a relaxing stay over three nights. The room was large (big enough to cope with a 14 month old toddler!) and airy and the shared bathroom and toilet was not a problem. The jams Karen makes are delicious. It was the little things, the thoughtfulness that Karen showed that made our stay so enjoyable. We didn't have to worry about a thing. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

A historic home that has been beautifully restored. The hosts, Karen and Roger, made us feel very welcome and did some things that were a pleasant surprise; providing weather forecasts and taking our washing in one day while we were out and it started drizzling. Our room was airy, spacious, clean and comfortable, and we slept soundly the three nights we stayed there. . The guest rooms are separate from the rest of the house and this gives guests more independence with the knowledge that assistance is not far away. It had everything we needed. We were lucky in that we were the only guests and didn't have to share the bathroom and toilet. The balcony and home made jams are a bonus. Be aware that the shower is above the bath and this may pose difficulties for less agile people.

Room Tip: Both rooms appeared to be of the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillingdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

If you can get over the shared bathroom and toilet and kitchen facilities this B&B has 2 large airy rooms, well furnished and I just love that huge comfortable bed. Slept really well. The premises are as they appear in the photo and the hosts Karen and Roger are full of information and go beyond the call of duty. I was in Hobart to watch my son play in a cricket carnival and did not have a lot of time to do other things such as washing which was no issue as my host Karen did this for me on one occasion. The house has front and back access with easy parking at the bottom at Seymour St and buses within a few yards from the top street on Newtown Rd to get into Hobart. Down the hill on Newtown Rd will take you to a couple of cafe's within easy walking distance, especially "The Green Store" which is as organic as possible and has great coffee and food. Up over the hill towards North Hobart is a handy restaurant strip just 4 or 5 bus stops away. Great garden and preserves and breakfast supplied. A 9 day stay was very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capelevique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi and Oz in Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Karen and Roger made us feel immediately at home, going the extra mile to assist. I would recommend this to friends and anyone looking for the historical experience! The house has been lovingly restored back to it's original glory where possible with modern creature comforts such as electric blankets. Ask them about the vegetable garden, where you are given preserved fruit and jams for breakfast from their own backyard, just delicious! Gorgeous people, gorgeous home, gorgeous experience....we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ataahua_Skips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.6 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#32 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#3 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.7 mi away
Astor Private Hotel
Astor Private Hotel
#1 of 28 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alabama Hotel Hobart
Alabama Hotel Hobart
#3 of 28 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bendalls Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bendalls Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bendalls Bed & Breakfast
Address: 80 New Town Rd | New Town, Hobart, Tasmania 7008, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bendalls Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and experience 19th-century Hobart in the 1840's heritage listed Georgian Victorian home of convict merchant Samuel Bendall. Guest accommodation is in the 1840's section with spacious, semi-self contained rooms which are furnished with antiques and collectibles. After a busy day seeing the sights come back to Bendalls to relax on the veranda and enjoy great views of Mt. Wellington, or, stroll in the organic kitchen garden which provides fruit for your breakfast. Located in a quiet area with public transport at the door and easy parking we are close to cafes, restaurants and supermarkets and only 10 minutes from central Hobart, Salamanca Place and the historic waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bendalls Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bendalls Bed & Breakfast Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing