We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Collins Hotel
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
An0n17
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great night's sleep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

Stayed for one night. Very comfortable bed and pillows made for an excellent night's sleep. Rooms are modern, clean and are well designed, but whole hotel has a utilitarian feel. Definitely geared for the business traveller.
Some confusion between information provided on booking website (eg. website lists parking as free and it's actually $8, checkout is now 11am but hotel information book in room lists it as 10am).
Staff were very friendly and obliging. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An0n17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    516
    113
    25
    10
See reviews for
107
500
85
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2010

Stayed one night for business with a colleague in a King Room on level 1. This hotel opened in December 2009, so it's pretty new. Lovely fresh bed linen, nice furnishings, flat screen TV. Free internet which was great. Iron and Ironing board, Tea/Coffee facilities, mini bar, Very Very quiet.

Downstairs there is a cafe in the reception area. Breakfast is from 6:30. The staff were very warm and welcoming.

As per other reviews, the hotel are having issues with their shower screens and this was outlined in an apology letter we received at check-in with offer's of extra towels and cleaning services if required. My particular bathroom I don't believe ever had a shower screen - it appeared to be designed as a wet room, which isn't preferable as of course everything got wet and I had to use several towels to mop up. The bathroom appeared to be large enough to accommodate a bath - but there was only the shower head.

there were a few very minor niggly issues that mean very little on their own but it would be great if the hotel kept them in mind for future developments. There is no place to put your toiletries/makeup etc in the bathroom but sufficient space for a vanity or bench. I ended up using the sink as there wasn't another mirror in the room itself where I could put on my makeup. There is no full length mirror in the room. Room service is only until 9:30pm. Given Hobart seems to close down rather early this was a bit of an issue when I got back from work rather late and didn't have a dinner option.

Parking is $9 a day. This is reasonable, however each time you come and go from the carpark (which is next door) you need to have reception validate your parking card. I'm sure the hotel could organise a better system with the carpark to prevent this.

Overall I thought this was a lovely hotel. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmegmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

We stayed 4 nights in a suite on the 9th floor, and can't fault the place. The rooms were spacious, bedding really comfortable, large flat screen TVs in bedroom and lounge area, and modern and new furnishings throughout. Service was really friendly, with the staff greeting us happily on each of our comings and goings. The location is convenient, with the shopping centre an easy stroll, as are the dock region and Salamanca Markets.
The only thing we would have liked is bathrobes and slippers and the cooler nights are starting to creep in to Hobart.
Free fast internet was greatly appreciated, as we had expected to pay. It was also great to have the mini bar stocked with quality wines as reasonable prices.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark and Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

Hotel Collins is a very welcome and wonderful addition to accommodation in Hobart. The redesign of the old office building has been tastefully done and has resulted in a very good property. The rooms are of a good size (we stayed in a Queen Hotel Club room); are comfortable and very clean; with good outlooks over Hobart. The rooms are very soundproof and we did not hear any external activity at all. It is centrally located some 250M from Sullivan's Cove and the CBD. A short walk to Salamanca Place as well. As reported there are some issues with water from the shower wetting the bathroom floor but it is being rectified and they are being very open about this. So kudos to them. We did have reason to complain about the water pressure and water temperature flactuations but I suspect these are to do with the overall water issue they are having. It didn't damper our enthusiasm for the hotel. The staff are wonderful! Each staff member we interacted with were professional, curteous and helpful. We did make mention of one staff member in particular to the General Manager who really made our stay memorable. We visit Hobart at least annually and will have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oooRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

we recently spent 4 nights at this brand new hotel in a King Room. This meant that there was a bath with shower over, as opposed to just a shower. Staff friendly and knowedgeable. Breakfast good and a fair price. Just a very short walk down to the dock, and a wee bit longer to Salamanca. Great quality bed and linen. We will be returning for sure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerryandval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

Stayed only one night in Feb this year. Booked direct which was as cheap as Wotif etc. A club room meant we were on a higher floor. Jenna and Stanley on Reception were so friendly and welcoming and were there each time we came in and out so it was nice to have continuity. Location is great as its an easy walk to the wharf, salamanca and the Mall.
Brand new hotel so the bathroom is great. So often the bathroom is the thing that lets the room down. Bed was fine and the room is nicely decorated with an ipod clock radio. A little street noise but nothing too bad.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradletn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Collins from 30/01 to 02/02. We booked our 3 nights accommodation from their official website and paid AUD$377 for a Queen Hotel Room. When we arrived, the very nice guy at the reception told us they have upgraded us to a Hotel Club Room. We got room 803 which is directly facing Mt Wellington. I don’t know if it was because we requested a room at higher level with Mt Wellington view so they decided to upgrade us.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and I was happy with the hotel. I agree with other reviews here re the positives:

- Everything in the hotel is new, modern and clean! Every time I walked into the lift, I could smell it’s a new hotel. The Hotel Club Room we got is spacious with plenty of room to store luggage and walk around. We had no issue at all using the air-con or hot water. We didn’t use the phone at all so can’t comment on that.

- What I liked most about our room is that there is a sofa bench thing (I’m not sure how you call it) at the end of the bed. So we could actually throw clothes, socks, bags, newspapers onto it without making the bed messy.

- The complimentary internet was great – no issue with connection and the service was stable.

- Location is great. You can walk to the Salamanca Place in 10-15 min. The hospital is right opposite the hotel.

- They do have a nice restaurant downstairs. We tried their breakfast before we checked out and we enjoyed it. The food was nice. I loved my omelette ham, cheese & tomato. The service was good too. Most importantly, it was quiet and relaxing. I liked being able to enjoy my cup of hot chocolate next to the window and see all the busy city people walking by.

I’ve noticed that they’ve addressed some of the issues that have been raised by people on Tripadvisor. For example:

- They have changed the checkout time from 1000 to 1100
- They now have breakfast room service with breakfast menu in the room
- The staff that we’ve talked to were not only very knowledgable, but also friendly and helpful. They have provided us directions to places we wanted to go and suggestions for where we could buy souvenirs.

There were a few little things that I think they could improve to perfect the guest experience:

The shower screen is a bit too small (as noted by one of the reviews here) and it’s easy to get the bathroom floor all flooded if you are not careful. However, this wasn’t a big issue for me as we used the bathroom mat provided so we didn’t get the floor wet.
.
The carpark issue – If you use the Market Place Carpark, yes you do need to validate the ticket at the reception everytime before you go out. However, if you are just stopping by for a short period of time, you can just park on the driveway of Budgie (the store next to the hotel) so you can avoid having to validate your ticket.

TV channels – I’d be even happier if they had more cable channels to watch. They have 5 movie channels, but there’s no news channels like CNN or BBC and no sports or documentary channels either. But again, I don’t think this would be a major issue for anyone as most people come to Hobart for holiday and you won’t be spending too much time in the hotel anyway. I’m sure you can live without your favourite channels for a few days can’t you?

I’d definitely recommend this hotel to people who like simple, modern hotels.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterlover616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.2 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#6 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Collins Hotel

Property: Mantra Collins Hotel
Address: 58 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Family Hotel in Hobart
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Collins Hotel has modern Hotel Rooms, and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, with some boasting views over Mount Wellington, the Queen’s Domain and CBD. All rooms are well appointed, furnished in a contemporary style, and have floor to ceiling windows allowing natural light to stream in. Sample the region’s finest food and wine including seafood at neighbouring restaurants, or purchase fresh produce at the farmers markets. From the hotel you can walk to Princes Wharf where many of Hobart's events take place. Discover Salamanca place at Battery Point, Queens Domain, Royal Botanical Gardens, or the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery – all within walking distance of this Hobart hotel. Don’t miss the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), accessible by ferry departing from the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Collins Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing