We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Collins Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed for two nights here, and have nothing but praise. The room was clean and well appointed. Loved the washroom. It was very quiet too. The hotel is walking distance to the Salamanca markets which is amazing. The is a Woolworth a block away, and a few great coffee houses within a couple of blocks. The only downside was that there is no parking on the hotel premises; they do provide a discount for the parking garage around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraBest56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    553
    119
    27
    10
See reviews for
112
529
94
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We booked three nights at Hotel Collins in April. We were not quite sure what to expect after reading mixed reviews. We booked a one bedroom apartment, which was a nice space for two people. The one bedroom apartments have kitchen facilities which gives you a nice option of being able to go out or stay in for the night. The hotel is in a good location, only a ten minute walk to the waterfront, ten minutes walk to the mall and a ten minutes walk to the supermarket. The room service food is good value and arrived quite quickly each time. There is no gym in the hotel however they do have deal with a local gym that is also only 10 minutes away. The gym is excellent. We also found the staff to be friendly, helpful and accommodating. Overall a good hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelandAndrewNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at Hotel Collins and were very impressed.
The room was very big, like a suite with a separate living room / kitchen (fridge, cooker etc) separate bedroom and separate bathroom.
The hotel is very modern, well equipped and clean.
The hotel is in a good location. The food is good, Nothing really to dislike. We would recommend and would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
511 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in late March. We had booked a Club Room and were given a room on the 10th floor which had floor to ceiling windows and a view over the city and Mount Wellington.

Room was not large but more than adequate and the full length windows not only let in a lot of light, but gave one the impression that the room was larger than it actually was. Room contained a king-sized bed that was very comfortable, a long leather covered low level stool that ran the width of the foot of the bed, a large desk with 2 chairs, a wardrobe with plenty of storage, a safe, iron and ironing board.

Bathroom was a good size with a large shower - no bath. Shower pressure was good.

Both the room and bathroom were very clean.

Breakfast was either a cold buffet ($16-50) not large but a reasonable range of choices of cereals, fruit, juices, breads, pastries etc plus barista coffee - quite good value, or an a la carte hot breakfast.

Staff at check-in/check-out and at breakfast were very good.

Hotel is at the north-eastern end of Collins Street, opposite the back entrance to the Royal Hobart Hospital but only a 5 minute (block and a half) walk to the Elizabeth Street pedestrian arcade, 5 - 7 minute walk (about 500/600 metres) to Constitution Dock and also to the dock for the ferry to MONA and about a 10-15 minute (about 700/800 metres) walk to Salamanca Place.
There is also a car park directly behind the hotel (parking cost less than $10 overnight - when your ticket is endorsed by the hotel) and next to the car park an Avis office (we hired a car and drove to Bruny Island - recommended as a day trip).

Taxi from the airport to the hotel was just less than $50.

Not the cheapest hotel around but would definitely stay here again when in Hobart

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We booked a room for one night while on holidays in Tassie.

Room was fantastic. We had a 1 bedroom apartment, with a roll away bed for our 5yo and a portacot for our 9mo.

Room was plenty big enough to accommodate us all in comfort.

The mini kitchen makes it very practical for a family.

Staff very friendly. We had dinner in the restraunt. While not the cheapest meal I've had we had no complaints paying for the quality!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Godsie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aus
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Staff so friendly and helpful. Rooms very clean and modern!
Great food.
Really liked this hotel, only stayed one night as we were passing though but would stay here again and recommend to everyone.
Just a note to travellers, there is no parking provided but there is a public car park behind which is cheap!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Hotel Collins last Saturday thru to Tuesday 1 April. Shuttle bus to hotel was very welcome. Very pleasant welcome from staff. Room on floor 9 was fine.Though one could see the harbour rhe multi storied car park just opposite our room would have been unpleasant during week days. Being the weekend there were only a couple of cars in the park so we could leave the curtains open to the vista most of the time. Best surprise was the cafe on the ground floor..The three restaurants we had wanted to visit were either booked out or closed on
Sundays and Mondays After a very poor lunch at the Cafe at Mures, and and a meal at the Drunken Admiral which was, like the Curate's egg, only good in parts, and an abominable dinner at The Saffron Indian (see review in restaurant section) we decided to eat in on the last night. We chose salmon and a fennel salad. The plate arrived with the fish and the salad both at just the right temperature. So often the fish is plonked too hot onto the plate and leaks into the salad. This fish had been allowed to rest a while before the salad was added and each had retained its own delicate taste. So nice to be satisfied with a meal....and cheaper than the restaurants above as well!

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room with a the view of the car park. The room was not that big but adequate. Very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momoCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Collins Hotel

Property: Mantra Collins Hotel
Address: 58 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Family Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Collins Hotel has modern Hotel Rooms, and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, with some boasting views over Mount Wellington, the Queen’s Domain and CBD. All rooms are well appointed, furnished in a contemporary style, and have floor to ceiling windows allowing natural light to stream in. Sample the region’s finest food and wine including seafood at neighbouring restaurants, or purchase fresh produce at the farmers markets. From the hotel you can walk to Princes Wharf where many of Hobart's events take place. Discover Salamanca place at Battery Point, Queens Domain, Royal Botanical Gardens, or the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery – all within walking distance of this Hobart hotel. Don’t miss the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), accessible by ferry departing from the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Collins Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing