We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Location in Hobart.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Collins Hotel
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Collins for seven nights and enjoyed the experience. The Hotel is modern and although the rooms are small they are comfortable. The hotel uses the Market Street car park next door at reasonable prices and a short walk takes you into the City Central or to the port and restaurant area. The reception staff were very helpful as were the dining room staff. The Restaurant provided good meals in a comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

912 - 918 of 1,297 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

We just had 3 nights at the Hotel Collins in Hobart. The staff were fantastic and really spoilt us. The room was clean, modern and had an amazing view out to the Harbour. The motel is handy to everything as it's right in the middle of Hobart and it's only a 5 minute walk down to the boats on the Harbour and all the eateries. Thanks very much guys for a great stay!!

Room Tip: A view of the Harbour is definitely worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Avoid a room on the 10th floor facing Mt Wellington ! Room became an oven after 3pm. The afternoon sun defeats the air-conditioning ! We stayed 5 nights and every day was a nightmare of torrid heat. The double-glazing is clearly not effective. Drawing the curtains against the heat of the sun is an unsuccessful and depressing solution to the problem.

Room Tip: Avoid the 10th floor facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Francis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights mid week. Parking was great in the adjoining carpark just get your card endorsed by reception for a great nightly rate. Everything in the motel was very clean, the motel felt very new but spelt really nice, not plastic. Breakfast was yummy and plenty of it. The best of all were the wonderful staff, all were just lovely and made us feel very welcome. Did I mention position, we walked to the dock area and Salamander for some great meals, and just a few minutes walk to the shops. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 7th floor facing west. A beautiful view of mount Wellington, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Its not cheap if you just use the room to bunk down for the night but it had everything we needed. Free wi-fi, cooling and heating, bar fridge with tea and coffee making facilities, a safe, iron and ironing board. The bed was fantastic and the pillows were great! House keeping was fabulous and tendered to the room daily. We stayed on the fourth floor opposite facing the main street - the noise was not that bad, but then again, we were up early and back late. The staff at reception were always happy, efficient and very helpful. Dave even supplied me with ear plugs when I told him a tale about snoring. The hotel has an arrangement with the car park behind the hotel. We paid about $6.50 a night which we thought was extremely reasonable in comparison to prior experiences. Location is great because you can walk to local restaurants and bars and the wharf is only a stroll away. I highly recommend Hotel Collins and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atir62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed 6 nights in an apartment with a king bed, it was expensive. Was it worth it?
A resounding yes!
The wifi works fine and the RJ45 network connection for my laptop combined with the desk was a nice workstation to work from.
The staff are all respectful and friendly. We had an issue with our sink draining and it was fixed immediately.
The apartment was large with a surprisingly very equipped kitchen even though we only used it for breakfasts. We didn't eat in the restaurant because it lacked atmosphere and by using Trip advisor wanted to explore other restaurants.
The best features are the bed and pillows (wow i'm buying those pillows when I get home!) the other is the double glazed windows. Very very quite at night.
If I was going to really pick then it would be some of the tiles in the bathroom are very dusty, don't think they have been cleaned since hand over from the builder.
Would I stay again? very likely!

Room Tip: if you are staying a few days then an apartment may be worth while. Choose the 10th floor for the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Collins Hotel

Address: 58 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Family Hotel in Hobart
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $113 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Collins Hotel has modern Hotel Rooms, and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, with some boasting views over Mount Wellington, the Queen’s Domain and CBD. All rooms are well appointed, furnished in a contemporary style, and have floor to ceiling windows allowing natural light to stream in. Sample the region’s finest food and wine including seafood at neighbouring restaurants, or purchase fresh produce at the farmers markets. From the hotel you can walk to Princes Wharf where many of Hobart's events take place. Discover Salamanca place at Battery Point, Queens Domain, Royal Botanical Gardens, or the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery – all within walking distance of this Hobart hotel. Don’t miss the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), accessible by ferry departing from the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Collins Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing