We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Decent Hotel , Friendly Staff , Ideally Located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Collins Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra Collins Hotel
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel , Friendly Staff , Ideally Located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here on our first visit to Hobart . The welcome at reception was very friendly and we were pleasantly surprised to find we had received a room upgrade . Rooms , while not spectacular are both comfortable and functional . Bed and pillows were very comfortable which is always a plus at any hotel. Location is ideal - just off Elizabeth street mall and 5 to 10 minutes walk to the Salamanca harbour front. While we did not eat at the hotel , the range of food available seemed quite decent . Good hotel .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wardy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    473
    103
    19
    7
See reviews for
96
443
73
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mudgee, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel Collins was great.
Our one bedroom apartment was quiet, super clean, modern and spacious.
Although there were no laundry facilities in our room the guest laundry was clean & well set-up and the coin-operated washers & dryers were efficient and worked brilliantly.
Free WI-FI was provided and it worked well.
Dave on reception was awesome; friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
Although the hotel doesn't have parking you may be able to snag free overnight parking on the street or pay the reduced charge of $15 for hotel guests at the adjacent car park.
The only drawbacks I found were that the lounge, whilst comfy, was too small for two to spread out comfortably, and it would have been nice if there were a bath in this room-type.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJR1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Collins several times for wok and find it a very comfortable hotel and convenient location. The rooms are clean and quiet - perhaps a bit basic in the smaller ones but the beds are comfortable.

The restaurant has a good range of food but room service could be improved as I have had several items forgotten. Staff were very apologetic and 'made good' rapidly which was fine.
Front of house staff are really helpful and there is parking directly outside if you are lucky or in the Market Street car park which is a stones' throw away.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We needed a place to stay close to the hospital, this is just across the road. I thought it would have been noisy being right in the CBD but no, it was so quiet.

All the staff were just so helpful and the room was just perfect. We had a King Room and I loved the bath. It was spotlessly clean and quality fittings used. Highly recommended and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisjan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braughing, Ware United Kingdom
Level Contributor
720 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is great for location as it is central to all the Hobart stuff that you need to do. Within walking distant for some great restaurants and bars and the market on a Saturday morning is not to be missed. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms well appointed with clean and comfortable facilities. The only drawback is that the hotel does not have parking, however there is a public multi next door with a discounted rate for residents.

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefCliveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a course to attend and givin this hotel was just down the road was very convenient as one of the days we slept in and ban straight up the road I had to travel lol , great rooms and great reception as we got there at 2am in the morning :) would defiantly recommend these fantastic sparkly rooms :)

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank karla b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Collins is a classy place to stay in Hobart. Very good position near the waterfront, pleasant staff, excellent cafe/restaurant both food and service and best of all the beds are so comfortable. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, and I think it's well worth the little extra you pay to have a sitting room and a compact kitchen.

Room Tip: Try for an apartment - bigger space, more room to spread out and the advantage of making your own br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 45 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 45 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Collins Hotel

Property: Mantra Collins Hotel
Address: 58 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Family Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Collins Hotel has modern Hotel Rooms, and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, with some boasting views over Mount Wellington, the Queen’s Domain and CBD. All rooms are well appointed, furnished in a contemporary style, and have floor to ceiling windows allowing natural light to stream in. Sample the region’s finest food and wine including seafood at neighbouring restaurants, or purchase fresh produce at the farmers markets. From the hotel you can walk to Princes Wharf where many of Hobart's events take place. Discover Salamanca place at Battery Point, Queens Domain, Royal Botanical Gardens, or the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery – all within walking distance of this Hobart hotel. Don’t miss the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), accessible by ferry departing from the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Collins Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing