We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Collins Hotel
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Collins for four nights. We paid extra for a club room which are on higher levels and were supposed to have a view. We ended up with a view of a car park with a little water view. That was disappointing but it didn't really matter. The size of the room was also a concern with no where really to put our luggage out of the way. Their website shows photos of bigger rooms so that might be something to say about. What was more disappointing was the loud music coming from somewhere nearby on Friday and Saturday nights. We went to bed early Friday night needing a good night's sleep only to be kept awake until late but thought it would be ok we could catch up on Saturday night. We no sooner hit the pillows on Saturday night and the music started again and this time it didn't stop until 12:30am. We weren't impressed at all. We realise it isn't the hotel's fault but we left thinking never again. Breakfast was included in the room rate and it was ok however being it was supposed to be a full breakfast we thought we would have had more choices of hot food other than eggs cooked three ways on toast. Wireless internet was included in the rooms but it wasn't working in our room on the first day. The hotel was quick to rectify this and by the next night it was working without any problems. So that was a plus. Apart from these couple of issues we did like the Hotel Collins but it just wasn't as good as we hoped.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if you are paying for a club room and make sure it is one of bigger ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sega58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

946 - 952 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hotel Collins is located close to the centre of Hobart and is easy walking distance to most attractions in the city, including the waterfront, Salamance, Battery Point and the museums. The hotel seems relatively new, and while the rooms are on the small side, they are very clean, have nice views over the city and the service is friendly and efficient, plus it is one of the more affordable places in Hobart. All rooms also have free WiFi, which is great and should really be standard in all hotels these days.

There is no onsite parking however, but there is a multi storey carpark right behind the hotel, which is roughly about $10 for an overnight spot as long as you mention you're staying at the hotel. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but did not try it out, seems like standard fare meals though. The only real issue, and it's not a big one, is that with only 2 lifts in the hotel, you can sometimes being waiting a while. But the biggest plus is the location as mentioned, and its a great base from which to explore Hobart CBD and waterfront.

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms are the same, but if you get a room on the northern side, you will have a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGod82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant suprise. I usually stay in big chain hotels when I travel, so I know exactly what I am getting. Hobart is a little different, so I took a punt, and found a good one! My room was spotless..and had everything I needed. It wasn't huge, but is was just me, so I had all the room I needed.

The free wifi was a bonus, and the room service food was great! The staff seemed like they actually cared, with one of them seeing me outside the hotel (in the carpark) and directing me to a space!

The parking is not dedicated for the hotel, but it is directly behind, and cheap. I paid $8 for a night.

I would certainly recommend this hotel, and would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had 2 nights in double suite on 5th with friends a bit noisy from the street on 1st night but not too bad, visit to mona Salamanca market art galleries womens prison all fantastic parking was cheap and easy as attached to the hotel. Try the coffee at Doctor Coffee next door and at Salamanca. You will not be disappointed. The service was friendly and second to none.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Gratown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

4th stay here. The staff here are fantastic and go out of their way to provide assistance with whatever you need. Shower could be a little cleaner. Otherwise a great stay. Perfect location in Hobart, central & very clean and modern rooms (and apartments if you require)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna1834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in a double room on the 4th floor with large floor to ceiling windows overlooking Mount Wellington. The room was a a large size, with tv, fridge, tea, coffee, hairdryer, iron etc... Nice clean large bathroom. Location was great, close to the waterfront, Salamanca and shops.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookieboy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Hotel Collins in Tasmania has been a great experience. All staff have been pleasant and accommodating - cafe staff young, friendly, and helpful. Our room faced the bridge (and, unfortunately, a parking garage, and apparently a nightclub that plays loud music certain nights - even with sealed windows, we could lightly hear music filter in on our first night, Saturday. Music place is closed Sunday and Monday, so those were quiet - we'll see what tonight, last night of our stay, brings. Hotel was near the harbor about two blocks from the Art Hotel, on the other side of town from Salamanca Place - you'll find yourself walking a bit to most attractions, but it's a close choice to several excellent museums, including the newly redone Tasmanian Museum of Art, the interesting Maritime Museum, and the little known but not to be missed Penitentiary Chapel. Our room had comfortable seating, a desk with two chairs, table with two chairs, kitchen, large bedroom with king bed, and bathroom. Price was good for what was included, and to their credit, they provide both free WiFi and free Internet access via two computers in a very nice sitting room on the first floor, adjoining the cafe. On the down side, no pool, no gym, and most rooms just missing a nice harbor view. For an extra price, you can get a day pass to use the Aquatic Center - but that's a good 10-15 minute walk away. Street parking is metered and limited - there is a paid parking garage adjoining the hotel, and I don't know if the hotel provides free parking or reimbursement of paid fees. This is more of a business class hotel, but we felt very welcomed as tourists, especially by the cafe - a nice spot that deserves a bit more foot traffic. Unless other hotels hop on and offer free Internet access and free WiFi, the Hotel Collins will remain my hotel of choice when staying in Hobart, Tasmania. There are other gorgeous (and more expensive) hotels, including the Henry James Art Hotel and the Hotel Grand Chancellor - that one with bayfront view rooms - they could use a few lessons from here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 47 in Hobart
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Collins Hotel

Address: 58 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Family Hotel in Hobart
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: $122 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Collins Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Collins Hotel has modern Hotel Rooms, and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, with some boasting views over Mount Wellington, the Queen’s Domain and CBD. All rooms are well appointed, furnished in a contemporary style, and have floor to ceiling windows allowing natural light to stream in. Sample the region’s finest food and wine including seafood at neighbouring restaurants, or purchase fresh produce at the farmers markets. From the hotel you can walk to Princes Wharf where many of Hobart's events take place. Discover Salamanca place at Battery Point, Queens Domain, Royal Botanical Gardens, or the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery – all within walking distance of this Hobart hotel. Don’t miss the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), accessible by ferry departing from the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Collins Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing